After The Fact Charges For A Dui In California
While it may be difficult to believe, the court system in California has one year to prosecute drivers for a misdemeanor DUI offense. The court may charge you with a felony for up to three years after the initial crime. This means that, legally, a law enforcement officer can charge you with a DUI after the fact.
California uses many different charges to prosecute DUIs. You can face any of these DUI charges if you are accused of drinking and driving after the fact. You can even be charged with driving under the influence of drugs after the fact. The good news is that these charges are often easier to beat as the evidence is typically not as strong. An experienced Los Angeles DUI lawyer may be able to get these charges dismissed outright.
For a free legal consultation, call
When Does A Dui Arrest Occur
When the officer believes he or she has probable cause that the driver is under the influence of alcohol or drugs, the officer will make the arrest. An arrest is defined as any act that indicates an intention to take the person into custody and subjects him to the actual control and will of the person making the arrest. Essentially, an arrest occurs when a reasonable person would believe that he or she was not free to leave under the circumstances.
Why Were The License Plates Taken Off My Car
If you have a previous DWI, test refusal, license revocation, a BAC of .16 or more, or a child under the age of 16 who is at least 3 years younger than the driver and are arrested for DWI, your license plates can be impounded. If this happens, you will be issued a Notice and Order of License Plate Impoundment. This is done in an effort to prevent people from being able to drive. If your license plates are taken, you can challenge it and potentially have the order of impoundment rescinded. There is a 60 day deadline to challenge your license plate impoundment. Olson Defense has experience getting license plate impoundments rescinded and may even be able to have your license plates reinstated while your case is pending. If your license plates have been impounded, contact the lawyers of Olson Defense at 835-1088 to fight for you.
What Happens After The Dui Arrest
Most Montgomery County, PA DUI offenses result in warrantless arrests and release from custody without preliminary arraignment. Soon after the arrest, a criminal complaint, summons and affidavit of probable cause are filed and served on the defendant. The summons is a directive to appear at a preliminary hearing, which is to be held not less than 20 days from the mail date of the summons unless other arrangements have been made. The summons will notify the defendant of the date, time, and place of the preliminary hearing.
A preliminary hearing is not a trial. The purpose of the preliminary hearing is to protect an individuals right against unlawful arrest and detention. Preliminary hearings for Montgomery County, PA DUI cases take place in the appropriate Magisterial District Court. At the preliminary hearing, the Commonwealth bears the burden of establishing a prima facia case that a crime has been committed and that the accused is probably the one who committed it. If the prosecution fails to prove a prima facie case, the defendant will be discharged. If the prosecution successfully meets its burden, the case will be transferred to the Montgomery County Court of Common Pleas and scheduled for trial.
What Happens If The Officer Failed To Admonish You Properly
If the officer neglected to read the admonishments as required under law, your license should survive suspension. Alternatively, if the officer gave you the incorrect time period for your license suspension it may be reduced to a lower time period if that was the time period that the officer admonished you with11.
Don’t Miss: How Can I Check My Police Report Online
Will A Dwi Impact My Immigration Status
A DWI may impact your immigration status. If you are in the United States on a visa, your visa could be revoked as a result of a DWI conviction. DWI offenses can also bar someone from receiving or renewing Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals status. Additionally, you need to be aware of inadmissibility and deportability. If you are a legal permanent resident, or green card holder, a DWI is unlikely to result in the initiation of deportation proceedings. However, if someone is injured or killed as a result of your DWI, or you are charged with additional offenses, you may be in danger of deportation. Additionally, someone with one or more DWI convictions may be denied naturalization, or citizenship. An experienced lawyer will have the knowledge necessary to help you navigate the complex overlap between criminal and immigration law. Olson Defense has experience handling cases for clients who are not United States citizens. If you are here on a visa, green card, are undocumented, or have, or plan to, apply for citizenship and are charged with a DWI, contact Olson Defense at 835-1088 to protect your immigration status.
What Are Bail And Bond And How Do They Work
The terms bail and bond are frequently used interchangeably as though they mean the same thing. However, they are different, but related concepts. Bail is an amount of money set that must be paid before someone can be released form custody. When someone is arrested, they can be informed of a bail amount while being booked into jail or have a bail amount set by a judge. If you, or a friend or loved one, can afford to pay your bail amount, it can be paid and you can be released. If you fail to appear for court, the court takes the money and a warrant is issued for your arrest. If you appear for all of you hearings and your case is finished, the money can be refunded to you. If you are sentenced to pay fines, restitution, or court costs, your bail money may be applied to pay those costs.
An experienced lawyer will know how to help get your bail lowered and may even be able to get you released without paying any money. The lawyers of Olson Defense have years of experience assisting clients with their release from custody. If you or a loved one are in custody, contact Olson Defense at 835-1088 to discuss your options.
You May Like: How To Get A Police Accident Report Online
What Happens If I Am On Probation And I Get A Dwi
In addition to your new DWI charge, you could be looking at a new probation violation charge. A probation violation can mean having your probation revoked, increasing your time on probation, and/or increasing your probation requirements. If you have been charged with a DWI while on probation, you need a lawyer that is experienced handling DWIs and probation violations. Olson Defense has successfully defended against DWI and probation violation charges for years. If you are on probation and have been charged with a DWI, contact the lawyers of Olson Defense at 835-1088 to protect your rights and help you achieve the best possible outcome.
Can You Be Charged With Dui Months Later
While most people who contact our Toronto-area law offices to consult about drinking and driving offences in Ontario have already been charged with DUI , we sometimes receive inquiries from people who have not been charged. This typically involves questions from people who wonder whether they can be charged with a DUI after the fact.
It’s an interesting question and technically speaking the answer is yes, someone can be charged with DUI even months later. That’s because Canadian and Ontario law treat DUI as a criminal offence, an indictable offence which does not include the short statute of limitations expiration date for prosecution afforded to summary conviction crimes. While the Crown can choose to prosecute a DUI as either a summary conviction offence or an indictable offence, until that decision is made, such cases are considered as indictable offences and not subject to the statute of limitations.
Was I Stopped Legally
Police are allowed to pull you over when they have reasonable and articulable suspicion that you have violated a traffic law and/or an equipment violation. This is most commonly established through observation of a traffic violation. For example, speeding, driving without headlights, failure to signal a lane change or turn, and swerving all commonly provide police with reasonable suspicion to stop a vehicle. The lawyers at Olson Defense have successfully challenged many traffic stops and obtained dismissal of their client’s DWI and Drug charges. If you feel that you may have been illegally stopped, contact Olson Defense at 835-1088 to fight for your rights.
Does An Officer Have To State Why You Were Pulled Over In His/her Police Report
An officer stops your vehicle, the officer must state in his/her report why you were stopped.
- You were speeding,
- You had unlawfully or unsafely changed lanes,
- You failed to make a complete stop at a stop sign
- You are observed to be weaving in a traffic lane
- You are sleeping at the side of the road, or
- Engaged in conduct that may be unsafe or committed any other vehicle code violation or infraction
It is not necessary that the officer suspects that you are under the influence.
If the officer stated that he/she stopped you simply based on this feeling or hunch, it would be grounds for exclusion of all evidence obtained as a result of the illegal stop.
Read Also: How To Become A Police Captain
Are Drunk Driving Laws Time Specific
No state has a time specific DWI law. In other words there is no cut off related to the time since you had your last drink. The time when you were pulled over is immaterial and you wont get a more lenient sentence because it has been a matter of hours since you were drinking.
If you are over the legal limit or too intoxicated to drive properly the next day, theres an risk you will be charged with DWI. Of course, an officer still needs a proper cause to pull you over. It could be reckless driving, speeding or malfunctioning light.
If you have been drinking the night before, you should err on the side of caution. Get a ride from a friend or delay driving.
If you are arrested for DWI, the fact you have failed a test does not mean you are automatically guilty. Our experienced Fort Worth drunk driving defense lawyers are familiar with all of the ways a DWI charge can be flawed.
If you have been charged with drunk driving, its important to act fast.
About The Medlin Law Firm – Gary Medlin
In over 36 years of criminal law practice, Gary Medlin has handled thousands of criminal matters. His experience practicing both sides of Texas state and federal criminal law cases offers a significant advantage to his clients.
Similar Posts by The Author:
Publicaciones Similares del Autor:
Penalties For Impaired Driving
If police determine that you are driving while impaired you will face penalties immediately. You will also face additional consequences later if you are convicted in court. The penalties you face can vary depending on your age, licence type, the amount of alcohol or drugs in your system, and how many times you have been convicted.
Recommended Reading: What Do Police Drones Look Like
Ive Been Charged With Drinking And Driving What Happens Next
As you are likely well aware of now, being charged with a drinking and driving offence can feel overwhelming. Like many people charged with this offence, you have:
- Spent several hours in police custody
- Had your vehicle impounded for seven days
- Are now under a 90 day license suspension
- Have paid towing and towing and impound fees
- Feel upset with what happened, and perhaps the way you were treated by police and,
- Are confused on what happens next in the criminal process and what happens at your upcoming court appearance
Despite these feeling, the first thing you should know is that impaired driving charges happen to thousands of Canadians every year. In fact, it is the most common criminal offence in the country. You are not alone in this process, despite how isolated and embarrassed you may presently feel.
That said, drinking and driving is a serious criminal charge, and it is important to act quickly in order to ensure the best possible outcome for your case. With strict timelines surrounding eligibility for processes like Steam A and Steam B Reduced Suspension Programs in Ontario, time is of the essence to seek legal counsel who can advise you on what is the best approach for your particular case.
Secondly, despite these timelines, you should never plead guilty until you have obtained proper legal advice.
What Is The Connecticut Implied Consent Law And Consequences
What is Implied Consent? Any person that operates a motor vehicle in Connecticut drives under under something called implied consent. The implied consent law states that if you are driving and a police officer asks you to submit a blood, breath, or urine test, you have to comply. If you are a minor, your parent
Don’t Miss: How To Become A Police Officer In San Diego
Youll Usually Be Arrested For Dui At The Scene Of An Accident
First, its important to state right off the bat that if the police were going to arrest you for drunk driving, theyd probably do it while you were still at the scene of the accident. Its very unlikely that theyd allow you to continue driving if they suspected that you were a danger on the road.
Its even more unlikely that the police would allow you to drive away and let the evidence of your intoxication go with you. The longer the stretch of time between your last sip of alcohol and your arrest, the less evidence of intoxication there will be.
Thats because chemical tests including breathalyzers and blood tests can only tell the police how intoxicated you are right now. Those tests cant tell the police how drunk you were hours or days ago. They might be able to posit a guess, but that guess wont be very reliable in court.
So, if the police have reasonable suspicion to believe that you got into the accident because you were driving while impaired, theyll almost always make the arrest right then and there.
Can You Get A Dui Charge After The Fact
Is it possible to get charged with a DUI after the fact once you have driven home? The answer to that question is yes or no depending on the details of your situation.
It is possible to receive a DUI after the fact if there is enough evidence against you. This may be more difficult to prove under these circumstances, but it is possible. If the police officer believes there is enough evidence to show that you were driving while intoxicated, they can pursue a DUI charge against you. However, it is important to note that just because you are charged with such a crime, does not mean that you are guilty. If there is no evidence, such as a breath test or blood test and the police did not see you driving your car, you could have a strong defense.
Also Check: Can I Sue The Police For Not Investigating
Almost 50% Of Drivers Who Tested Positive For Drugs Also Drank Alcohol
Almost half of all drivers killed in accidents who tested positive for drugs also had a BAC level. In 2014, police arrested more than 1.1 million people for driving while intoxicated with alcohol or narcotics. In 2013, 28.7 million peoplegreater than the population of Texasadmitted to driving under the influence.
Dui Arrests In Pennsylvania
While every DUI case has its own unique issues and set of facts, a typical DUI case begins with a person being pulled over by the police. The police officer will ask for the drivers license, registration, and proof of insurance while carefully monitoring the drivers mannerisms and behavior. The driver may be asked to submit to field sobriety tests. If the officer has probable cause, the officer will place the driver under arrest for DUI. The driver is taken into custody, processed, fingerprinted, asked to submit to an official blood alcohol content test, and released a few hours later or the next morning.
You May Like: How To Find A Police Report For A Car Accident
Legal Repercussions Of After The Fact Dui Charges
An after the fact DUI charge will be handled like any other drunk driving offense in California. This means that you can face a number of harsh penalties if you are convicted. A first-time conviction for a DUI in California can result in:
- Up to $2,000 in fines
- Up to six months in jail
You can also face restrictions on your drivers license if you are convicted of a DUI in California. Additionally, all DUI charges in California are priorable. This means that the conviction will remain on your license for 10 years. If you are charged with a subsequent DUI in this time period, you will face harsher penalties.
Make sure you take after the fact DUI charges seriously by contacting a criminal defense lawyer in Los Angeles now at .
Texas Statutes For Drunk Driving Charges
Every state has multiple laws on the books that offer a breadth of punishments for persons who are convicted of driving while intoxicated. These penalties usually include a combination of jail or prison time, fines and the loss of driving privileges. In some cases, it may require a person to wear a tether or perform community service of some type. Under different circumstances, the convicted individual may be given an adjudicated sentence or probation. Let us consider the more common sentences for those who are found guilty of drunk driving in Houston.
In general, Texas lawmakers are inclined to lean towards the belief that severe punishments should be in place to deter drunk driving. Unfortunately, the truth is that this state leads the nation in drunk driving fatalities and our local Harris County is number one for drunk driving deaths in the state. This is sobering news for lawmakers who are not pleased to hold this record. So prosecutors and law enforcement continue to develop more statutes and programs with the hope that something will help us lose this unpleasant distinction. This is why hiring a DWI attorney can be beneficial for your case, they are well informed on new statutes and programs being enforced.
Don’t Miss: How To Train A Dog To Be A Police Dog