Becoming A Police Officer In Chesapeake Virginia
Police officers in Chesapeake strive to promote a safe city through the enforcement of laws and crime prevention initiatives in partnership with the community. This is reflected in the departments four core values: professionalism, respect, community service, and integrity.
If this sounds appealing to you, then consider applying for available Chesapeake police jobs. This guide will walk you through the steps required to apply and ultimately become a police officer in Chesapeake, Virginia:
- 20 miles an hour or more over the speed limit
- Three or more moving violations
- No recent illegal drug use
- If you have served in the military you must have received an honorable discharge
- Good physical condition
Step 2. Application
Your next step will be to complete an online application for the position of Police Officer Trainee. Make sure to attach all required documents, sign the necessary forms, and fill out the application completely. Failure to do any of these will result in either a delayed response or the dismissal of your application.
When your application has been received and is judged to be complete, the Chesapeake PD will email you with your appointment time to take your physical ability test.
Step 3. Personal History Statement
Step 4. Physical Agility Test
- Remembering an imaginary suspects description
- Dragging a 150-pound dummy five yards
Step 5. Background Investigation
Virginia Beach Police Officer Requirements
The Virginia Beach Police Department accepts applications from prospective officer recruits during open recruiting periods. To qualify for a position as a cop on the Virginia Beach force, a candidate must:
- Be at least 20 years old to apply and 21 at the time that training is completed
- Have US citizenship
- Have or be eligible for a valid Virginia or North Carolina drivers license
- Possess a high school diploma or GED
- Not have any felony convictions or convictions for disqualifying misdemeanors
The first step in the process of becoming an officer with the VBPD is to apply online and complete a personal history questionnaire. Candidates who qualify may be invited to take a written test consisting of multiple-choice questions, followed by a physical fitness test. Recruits who pass these tests with adequate scores may then undergo a background investigation, an interview, a polygraph examination, and psychological and medical examinations. Candidates who successfully pass through all stages may be offered conditional employment as recruits and an assignment to an upcoming police academy.
For more information about how to become a cop in a typical big city, see 10 Steps to Becoming a Police Officer on our home page. If you are ready to apply, find specific application information on the Virginia Beach Police Department Employment page.
How Do I Become A Police Officer In Virginia
In order to become a police officer in the state of Virginia, you must meet the following requirements:
- Be at least 21 years old
- Have a high school diploma or equivalent
- Possess a valid drivers license
- Be a U.S. citizen or have permanent resident status
- Pass the Virginia State Police entrance exam
- Complete an accredited law enforcement training academy
You May Like: How Does It Take To Become A Police Officer
Recommended Reading: What’s The Oldest Age To Become A Police Officer
Virginia Assault On A Police Officer
Though simple assault in Virginia is a criminal misdemeanor, Section 18.2-57 of the Code of Virginia classifies assault and battery against a law enforcement officer as a Class 6 felony. These crimes are pursued especially aggressively by prosecutors as crimes against law enforcement officials are viewed as particularly egregious. In order to avoid suffering the long-term negative consequences associated with a conviction, if you have been accused of assault on a police officer , contact a Virginia APO attorney who can provide you with more information regarding the charges and the best way to fight them.
Indiana State Police Recruit Academy Selection Process
Frequently Asked Questions
Question 1: How do I become an Indiana State Trooper?
Answer 1: All applicants must complete the online Trooper Application, in its entirety, at the following link: .
Question 2 : What are the requirements to become an Indiana State Trooper?
Answer 2: The minimum eligibility requirements for Trooper are:
No exception will be made for anyone who does not meet all requirements.
Question 3: Can I have tattoos/body modifications?
Answer 3: The Indiana State Police has an appearance standards policy to address tattoos and mutilations. The policy reads in part: All Sworn, Capitol Police Section and Motor Carrier Inspector employees are prohibited from:
- Having any tattoo or mutilation on the head, neck or hands.
- Exposing any tattoo or mutilation while on duty or while operating a Department commission.
Anyone exposing any tattoo or mutilation that can be seen while wearing the issued short sleeve uniform shirt with ones arms extended straight downward in a position similar to Attention, during periods when the summer uniform is authorized, shall wear the issued winter uniform year-round to include the tie and felt hat.
Also Check: How To Get A Copy Of A Police Report Online
West Virginia Trooper Or Highway Patrol Requirements
The West Virginia State Police , founded in 1919, is the fourth-oldest organized state police agency in the country.3 In order to be considered for a position as a WVSP trooper, new recruits must meet the state standards as well as these additional requirements:
- Be at least 21 years old, but no older than 39
- Have a high school diploma or GED
- Have a valid drivers license for two years before applying
- Have no domestic violence convictions
Prospective recruits submitting an application who meet the requirements must pass a written test and a fitness test on an open testing date, followed by an oral interview. Candidates who move forward in the process will complete psychological and medical testing as well as a background check. Accepted recruits will be assigned to a training class. The annual starting salary for West Virginia state troopers is $36,154 during training and $43,414 upon graduation.3
How Are Va Police Officers Trained
Once selected for employment as a Department of Veteran Affairs police officer, recruits go through an eight-week training course at the VA Law Enforcement Training Center at Fort Logan H. Roots in Little Rock, Arkansas.
Recruits are also certified in CPR, and the use of weapons and deterrents, including Pepper spray, the expandable police baton and sidearm.
Recommended Reading: What Do You Need To Be A Police Dispatcher
Contact Your Local Police
Contact your local police or sheriffs department and ask if the department has an existing chaplain program. If they do, speak to the person in charge of recruiting new chaplains and find out what the requirements are to become a chaplain within that police or sheriffs department. Each police department has its own set of requirements. If they dont have a current chaplain program, express interest in working with necessary personnel to begin one.
S To Become A Police Officer In Virginia
To become a police officer in Virginia, you have to complete the following steps:
The first step is to obtain high school education as that is the minimum educational requirement needed to join the police force in most US states.
You have to ensure that you know all the requirements of the job. Make sure that you do thorough research and know all that there is to know before applying for the job. This will help you with the application process.
Once you have completed all the pre-requisites, you can apply for the position of the police officer. Make sure you fill out the application carefully because any mistake can result in rejection.
You will have to complete the hiring process which will contain interviews, background screening, written tests, drug screening, etc.
Once you pass the hiring process, you will need to clear police academy training before you can join the force.
Also Check: Where To Buy Old Police Cars
Interested In Law Enforcement And Helping Veterans Va Police Is Hiring
Did you know VA that has its own 4,000-member police force? To grow and maintain that workforce, we need to hire police officers, supervisory police officers, and detectives to work at VA medical facilities and national cemeteries around the country. According to the VHA Workforce Management and Consulting office, police officer ranks first on its list of nonclinical shortage occupations.
If you want to help Veterans but dont have health care experience, you may be interested in a VA law enforcement career. VA police have many, varied duties that benefit not only Veterans, but also the communities they live in. Here are some things you should know about the VA police force:
- Nearly 90% of VA police officers are Veterans.
- With special training to keep Veterans safe, VA police help prevent Veteran suicide, a serious national crisis.
- VA police keep Veterans health top-of-mind by enforcing the use of masks and temperature screenings at VA facilities.
- The VA police force includes a K-9 unit.
- The origins of the VA police force date back more than 150 years, to President Abraham Lincolns time.
- VA police officers help communities during acts of terrorism and hurricanes, as well as other natural disasters.
In addition to sharing the mission of serving Veterans and the Veteran community, VA employees can also take advantage of great benefits. These include:
Work at VA
Virginia Beach Police Spent More Than 18000 Hours On Mental Health Crises Last Year
- Category: Local News
The hours Virginia Beach Police have spent on mental health crises has increased almost 12% over the past year, according to a Freedom of Information Act Request filed by WHRO.
The department responded to 3,186 mental health incidents last year, equaling 18,795 hours of police work, according to the departments accounting.
Those hours are taxing police department resources as officers also face shortages of mental health staff, difficulties finding facilities and legal red tape that slows their response down during crises.
The mental health calls for service are certainly some of the most prevalent cases we handle right now, said Sgt. James Jaskowiak. He coordinates Virginia Beach polices Crisis Intervention Team.
CIT programs are designed to connect police with mental health workers, hospital staff and emergency dispatchers. The goal is to help police get training and advice in the moment when they approach someone in a mental health crisis.
The CIT model is used in 2,700 localities nationwide, according to the National Alliance on Mental Illness.
Once a crisis intervention team helps de-escalate a situation, they face a serious challenge to find the proper care for people.
The infrastructure cant handle the demand, Jaskowiak said. That is our biggest issue.
Finding a safe place for a person in crisis is difficult, he said.
Read Also: How Long In The Police Academy
Also Check: How To Apply For State Police
What Type Of Shift Will I Work
Each officer begins their career in the patrol division. Patrol shifts are 11 hours and officers will be assigned a day, evening or night shift, alternating between a 4 and 5 day-off cycle. The schedule looks like this: Work Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday off Friday, Saturday, Sunday, Monday, Tuesday work Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday off Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday.
Pass A Background Investigation
The next step is to complete a background investigation. Your background will be investigated for offenses such as felony convictions and other disqualifying factors. You will be asked to authorize access to a variety of records, including your educational, financial, criminal history, and employment. Your friends, neighbors, family members, and work associates may all be interviewed.
You May Like: Can Text Free Apps Be Traced By Police
Assault On A Police Officer Offenses
In order to be convicted of assault on a police officer, the state must prove that:
- You committed an assault against the complainant police officer
- You knew or had reason to know at the time of the assault that the victim was a police or other sworn law enforcement officer and
- The police officer was engaged in the performance of official duties at the time of the offense.
Under this statute, assault is defined by the criminal code as an overt act that is either intended to do bodily harm to the law enforcement official or put that police officer in fear of imminent bodily harm. The defendant also needs to have present ability to cause such harm. This means that in the police officers mind, you have the ability to make good on your overt physical threat. If the assault is followed by any physical contact, it can be charged as assault and battery.
If you are convicted for this offense in Virginia, your punishment could include a prison term of one to five years and/or a fine of up to $2,500. It should be noted that in addition to these potential harsh punishments, any conviction includes a mandatory minimum six month jail sentence. If the officer is significantly injured, the courts tend to be more severe when handing down sentences, which means you could end up serving the maximum prison term.
Read Also: How To Get A Police Clearance Letter
Virginia Deputy Sheriff Requirements
Virginia sheriffs and deputy sheriffs work in detention centers, provide security at courthouses, and provide rural patrol and law enforcement services. To become a Virginia deputy sheriff, you must at least meet the state minimums for law enforcement officers. Some departments may have additional qualifications for candidates.
Recommended Reading: How Long Does It Take For A Police Report
About The State Of Virginia
Virginia is the birthplace of eight United States presidents, more than any other state.
The capital of Virginia is Richmond, and its largest city is Virginia Beach.
In 1776, the Commonwealth of Virginia declared independence from Great Britain during the American Revolution.
The state is known for its historic sites and attractions. The first Europeans to settle in Virginia were Englishmen who arrived nearly 400 years ago in Jamestown beginning in 1607.
Virginia has a total area of 42,774 square miles, making it the 35th-largest state.
Its average population density is 129.0 inhabitants per square mile, and its median household income is $66,262+.
It is nicknamed The Old Dominion due to its status as one of the 13 original states in the United States prior to the American Revolution.
The cost of living in Virginia is relatively low, and its diversity makes it a desirable place to live for many people.
You May Like: How To Look Up Police Report
Virginia Assault On A Police Officer Charges
Assault and battery is generally a misdemeanor offense in Virginia. A person can commit battery through any offensive or harmful conduct, which can be as minor as throwing a snowball or small object at someone, if the person makes some contact with the victim and intended harm to the victim. An assault is an intentional act that makes a person think that he will be offensively touched or intentionally harmed.
Under Virginia Code Â§ 18.2-57, it is a Class 6 felony to commit an assault and battery on a law enforcement officer. Since a battery is any unwanted touching, these charges can be raised for any minor action of a suspect. This law applies to police officers and many other government officials, including:
- Rescue squad personnel
If you are convicted of this offense, you face a mandatory minimum prison sentence of six months in jail that can be increased to one to five years in prison. You may also be fined a maximum of $2,500.
Also Check: Can The Police Tell If You Have No Insurance
What Are The Duties Of A Va Police Officer
The U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs Police are solely responsible for the protection and monitoring of VA hospitals, outpatient clinics and community-based outpatient clinics . They are required to:
- Deter and prevent crime
- Investigate crimes
- They often work in conjunction with the VA Office of the Inspector General for certain cases.
Virginia Police Training Academies
Virginia is home to 10 police training academies. These are:
Read Also: What Happens If A Police Officer Hits Your Car
Attend Any Required Trainings Or Classes Required Or
Attend any required trainings or classes provided by the police or sheriffs department. Trainings or classes can range from a one-day seminar to several classes in self-defense, crisis counseling, death notification and emergency procedures. You will also need to provide references and participate in a background check. Once you have satisfactorily completed all the requirements to become a chaplain for a specific department, you can begin work as a police chaplain.
About the Author
Misty S. Bledsoe has been writing since 1995. She specializes in writing about religion, technology and solar concepts, and her articles appear on various websites. She holds a Bachelor of Science in information technology from American Intercontinental University.
Recommended Reading: Can I Volunteer At A Police Station
How Do I Become A Police Chaplain
MISTY S. BLEDSOE
Many police departments have chaplaincy programs that assist police offers and their families with spiritual and emotional support during stressful or traumatic events. Police chaplains often will ride with another officer and can act as a liaison between officers and medical support teams relating bad news to family members or putting a civilian in touch with the civilians preferred member of the clergy. Becoming a police chaplain involves becoming an ordained chaplain, meeting various police department requirements for experience and following through with any trainings or classes the police department requires.
Explore this article
Also Check: How To Become A Police Officer In Ny
Don’t Miss: Can I Become A Police Officer