Obtaining A Copy Of A Car Accident Report In Arizona
In some cases, the responding police officer, sheriffs deputy or highway patrol trooper who responded to your accident will give you a copy of their report before departing the accident scene. If not, you should get the officers name and badge number and, if possible, the accident report number.
After several days, contact the local office of the law enforcement agency that handled your accident call and request a copy of the report from your car accident. There will likely be a small fee.
For example, you can obtain an accident report from the Maricopa County Sheriffs Office for $5 for the first 10 pages and $.50 for each additional page. It may be 7-14 business days before a report is available. The Department advises that reports may be delayed depending on the severity of the crash. Accidents involving serious and/or fatal injuries may take months to complete.
Contact the Maricopa County Sheriffs Departmental Reports Section at 876-1078 to find out whether a report is available and its cost.
You can visit the Sheriffs Office at 550 W Jackson St., Phoenix, AZ, to get your copy.
You can also get a copy online through a vendor known as BuyCrash for $5 plus a vendors fee if the crash did not cause serious injuries or death. These are not available online.
As suggested above, if you have engaged an attorney to help you with an accident claim, the attorney will obtain the accident report as part of their investigation.
When To Contact An Arizona Car Accident Attorney
An Arizona police report should be made available to all persons involved in a car accident, including an Arizona personal injury attorney representing a person involved or a licensed private investigator. If you have questions about how to get an Arizona police report, please contact Lerner and Rowe Injury Attorneys today.
You should also contact one of our experienced car accident attorneys in Arizona as soon as possible if you are injured or youve lost a loved one because of the reckless actions of another person. We have eight offices located in the Phoenix metro area, as well as in Tucson, Yuma, and Bullhead City and can make arrangements to assist you if you live in another city throughout the state.
To arrange a free, no obligation legal consultation, contact a local Arizona office 24/7 by phone, connect with a LiveChat agent online, or send us your case details for review by filling out this form.
The call is free, the consultation is free, and you dont pay a penny unless we win your personal injury case!
Get A Free Copy Of Your Police Accident Report
The quickest and most convenient method to obtain a copy of your Phoenix accident report is to contact an experienced Arizona car wreck lawyer at Lerner and Rowe Injury Attorneys. Not only can a personal injury attorney easily procure a copy of your accident report through the appropriate channels, they can also help you understand the contents of the report and how they could affect a potential injury settlement down the line.
Read Also: How To Be A Reserve Police Officer
Are Mesa Court Records Public
In compliance with the Arizona Public Records Law and Arizona Court Rules, access to some Mesa court records may be restricted. The court may seal these documents or sections containing confidential information from public view or redact them from copies given to members of the public. Exempted court records in the city of Mesa include:
- Information on juvenile cases and domestic relations cases concerning minors
- Personal identifying information on a crime witness
- Sexual offense and protective order cases
- Warrant and charging documents
- Documents of personal or private nature
- Sensitive information whose disclosure might be detrimental to State interests.
Online Accident Reports Are Not Available
Reports are typically available three to five business days from the date of the report. If your report is not available after five business days, please contact the Records Section at 622-0655.
Records hours of operation are Monday through Friday 8:00 a.m – 5:00 p.m. The Records Unit is closed weekends and holidays.
Don’t Miss: How Do I Find A Police Report Online
When Should You Get A Police Report
After the car accident, wait a few days before you contact the reporting officers law enforcement agency office to request a copy. This will give the law enforcement agency time to prepare an official report, even though they are required by law to do so within 24 hours of the accident.
You should also be aware that even though there may be a delay in obtaining your police report if the accident resulted in serious and/or fatal injuries. Should that be the case, it may take months for an official report to be completed.
Note that you may be required to pay a small fee to obtain a copy.
Tip: If you notice that there are errors or omissions of information on the police report after you get a copy, you should reach out to the responding officer and ask for the missing information you need to properly document your accident. It may have just been an oversight that can easily be corrected with a phone call.
To Obtain A Record Of Search For Personal Criminal History
- A written request form must be completed in person during the above hours of operation
- A current Photo ID, such as a Driver’s License or Passport is required
- COST: $10.00 per search
- The Record of Search is for City of Scottsdale jurisdiction ONLY
If you need a national check or clearance letter, contact the FBI:
Federal Bureau of Investigation
Also Check: How To Become Undercover Police
How To Get A Police Report After An Accident In Arizona
We can help you obtain a free copy of your police report. You just need to completely fill out the police report request form on this page. Another way is to do as suggested above, contact the reporting law enforcement officers agency directly and follow their required steps.
You can also get a copy of your collision report from the Arizona Department of Public Safety by filling out the records request form, dropping it off in person or mailing it in, and then paying a small fee by credit/debit card , business check, cashiers check, or money order.
Lastly, if your car accident did not involve a catastrophic injury or death, you can also check the online vendor BuyCrash to see if the accident reporting law enforcement agency in Arizona is part of their reporting network.
Why Should You Get A Police Report
All of the information provided in a police report can be used by your Arizona personal injury attorney and insurance company to establish the degree of fault. The police report can also be used to build a strong and accurate injury claim when its time to pursue damages against the at-fault party or parties.
Additionally, if your claim should end up in court, a police report combined with the reporting officers first-hand testimony is extremely useful evidence for the presiding judge and jury.
Also Check: How To Listen To Police Radio
How To Get A Free Phoenix Accident Report
A traffic accident report can serve as invaluable evidence in many personal injury cases.
But after youve been injured in a car accident, there are already more than enough things to worry abouthospital stays, rehabilitation, medical bills, missed work, and of course, dealing with insurance companies. Obtaining a copy of a Phoenix accident report shouldnt be another one of your worries.
Read on to find out more about police accident reports and claim your free case review and accident report, courtesy of the Phoenix personal injury lawyers at Lerner and Rowe Injury Attorneys.
How To Obtain Mesa Criminal Court Records
Interested persons can obtain Mesa court records on criminal cases online, via mail, and in person. Although not all information is available online, interested persons can get information on criminal cases by using the case lookup tool to search by case number or name. Details that may facilitate the search include the partyâs first name, last/business name, date of birth, and court name. The eAccess portal also provides subscribers with 24-hours access to open case records and court documents, excluding Municipal or Justice Court records. Users may view the first page of available documents for free but have to pay to obtain the documents.
Note: Individuals may also find records through the Maricopa County Clerk of the Superior Court.
Recommended Reading: When’s The Next Police Auction
Why Is A Police Report Important
After you’ve been involved in an auto accident, you’ll need a copy of your police report in order to ensure that your auto insurance company has everything that they need to pursue damages against the driver who caused your accident. You will also need a copy of your police report for your Phoenix injury attorney so that they can properly and accurately file all of the necessary paperwork.
Town Of Gilbert Arizona
The Gilbert Police Records Section hours are Monday Thursday from 7:00 AM 4:00 PM.
The External Public Request Form found below is also available to make your records request online.
If additional assistance is required, you can also call Records by phone to speak with a specialist or leave a voicemail 635-7020.
The Records Section is the central repository for the Gilbert Police Department, responsible for the preservation and dissemination of official police reports and related records. Requests for other public information within the Police Department are also processed through the Records Section.
Don’t Miss: How To Become A Police Officer In Arizona
Expose The Truth Today
Instant Checkmate is one of the best public criminal records search engines you can use online. Our members turn to our website every day to learn the facts about the people in their lives. Join them so you can discover truths, expose lies, and get the real story about the people in your life. Become an Instant Checkmate member today, and find the truth about anyone.
How Do You File A Car Accident Report In Arizona
Under Arizona law, if you are a driver involved in an accident that causes injury or death, you must immediately report the accident to the local police department, county sheriffs office, or the nearest office of the state highway patrol. Another statute requires law enforcement personnel to complete a written accident report if they investigate an accident that causes death, injury or property damage in excess of $2,000.
At the minimum, an accident report will include:
- The time and date of the accident.
- The location of the accident.
- Identifying information for all involved parties and witnesses, including name, age, sex, address, telephone number, vehicle ownership and registration and proof of insurance.
- A narrative description of the facts of the accident, a simple diagram of the scene of the accident and the investigating officers name, agency and identification number.
The easiest way to file a car accident report is to phone 911 as soon as you are able to after a crash.
The law enforcement agency that creates the report is then required to prepare the report within 24 hours and forward a copy of the report to the Arizona Department of Transportation.
The agency is also required to provide a copy of the report to anyone who was involved in the accident or the owner of a vehicle involved in the accident or a representative of the person or owner.
Read Also: How Much Do Police Officers Make In Ohio
Obtain Copies Of Police Reports And Other Public Information
Police reports may be obtained in the following ways:
- US Mail: 75 E. Civic Center Drive, Gilbert, AZ 85296
- In Person
An individual involved in a criminal offense may receive one free copy of the associated report if he or she is listed as a victim note, this does not include copies of associated video/audio tapes or photos. If you are not making a records request in person, please provide as much information as possible, e.g. type of record, report number , date, time and location of the incident and the name of the person involved, including date of birth.
Are Mesa Criminal Records Public
In compliance with the Arizona Public Records Law, Mesa criminal records fall under the category of confidential information and are therefore mainly available to the record subjects, eligible employers, and criminal justice agents such as law enforcement officers and prosecutors. Local criminal history information may be obtained at the Mesa Police Department. Individuals may obtain these records or local clearance by contacting the Records Division of the Mesa P.D. located at 130 North Robson Street or call 644-2310.
Agencies authorized under ARS 41-1750 and Public Law 92-544 may make statewide background checks through the Applicant Team of the Arizona Department of Public Safety, while individuals can obtain records for personal review in the following steps:
- Attorneys should include notarized letters of consent/authorization.
- Mail fingerprint card, information sheet, and other applicable letters to:
Arizona Department of Public SafetyCriminal History Records UnitP.O. Box 18450Phoenix, AZ 85005-8450
Requests may take up to two weeks to be processed if there is existing criminal history information. Call 223-2229 for additional information.
Don’t Miss: Can Police Take Your Home Security Footage
Police Public Records Request
The Records Division maintains copies of departmental reports and is responsible for addressing records requests made by the general public, media and other law enforcement or criminal justice agencies.
To obtain an accident report, you must be a party to the accident.
Records Section is located at 21699 W. Yuma Rd. Suite 104 and the hours are: Monday through Thursday, 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m., closed holidays. The telephone number for records is 623-349-6401. Records requests are not taken over the telephone but via the internet address listed below.
It can take up to 10 business days to process a police records request. Reports will be redacted before release.
Please complete the request with as much information that you have to assist in searching.
Click LexisNexis and it will be processed by the Buckeye Police Department. Payment is required before the report is released via LexisNexis.
The Records Department accepts payment via LexisNexis.
|Includes first hour to redact 67 cents for each additional minute|
You will be contacted via the LexisNexis Request-A-Report system with the cost estimate. The LexisNexis service includes a processing fee that will be included with the cost provided to you. If you wish to proceed, you can make your payment through LexisNexis and the report will be emailed to you. Body camera footage has to be picked up at the police station after payment, 21699 W. Yuma Rd. Suite 104, Buckeye, Arizona 85326
Car Accident Police Reports
Car accident police reports are mandated in every state. This is because they happen so often and it is vital to keep drivers responsible through legal consequences.
Many states have laws in place to keep residents accountable and safe. These laws mandate getting a police report after an accident. Some states like Colorado require drivers to file a report even for minor fender benders.
On the other hand, states like Vermont mandate that drivers only need to make a car accident police report if the total damage, property or personal injury, is over $3,000. Most states require that you file within 10 days of the accident. Drivers who fail to make a report can get their license suspended or incur violation fines.
A complete and comprehensive accident police report includes the following information:
- Date, time and location of the accident
- Names, address, phone numbers car information and insurance information of all parties involved in accident
- Information that identifies witnesses
- Description of damage on vehicles and injuries
- Weather and road conditions at the site of the accident
- Statements from all parties involved in accident
- Citations given
- Opinion of cause of collision from all parties involved
You May Like: How Many Black People Were Killed By Police In 2016
Where And How To Get Confidential Marriage Records In Mesa
The Maricopa County Clerk of the Superior Court maintains confidential records of marriages and civil unions that took place in Mesa and other parts of the county. Either of the spouse and other authorized persons may obtain copies of marriage licenses by making online, mailed, or in-person requests at the Correspondence Section of the Clerk of the Superior Court.
Individuals interested in getting certified copies of Mesa marriage records should provide fees, valid photo identification, and information such as the full names of the couple before marriage, the year of marriage, and license number to the Clerk. The record costs $30.50 for electronically transmitted documents and if the requester provides a business-size, self-addressed stamped envelope with the request, or $37.50 to include postage and handling fees.
Pay fees in person with debit/credit card in person, or via mail with a money order made payable to the Clerk of the Court, and processing may take up to 10 business days. Mailed, in-person, email, fax, or telephone queries should be to:
Property And Evidence Related Questions
Any questions related to property and evidence in South Tucson police custody can be submitted via the email address below. The Property and Evidence custodian will respond as soon as possible however a response time of 3-5 business days may occur. NOTE: This relates only to property in the custody of the City of South Tucson Police Department.
Recommended Reading: How To Get A Copy Of Police Record