Virginia Police Training Academies
Virginia is home to 10 police training academies. These are:
An Equal Opportunity/affirmative Action Employer
Applicant Qualifications Employees of a police department are continually subjected to a range of physical and mental stress under hazardous conditions. Each candidate will be thoroughly evaluated to determine if their abilities are compatible with the duties and responsibilities of being a police officer. To be considered for employment, you must meet the minimum qualifications:
- U.S. Citizen
- 21 years of age at date of hire
- High school graduate or possess a valid G.E.D. certificate recognized by the Commonwealth of Virginia
- Licensed driver with demonstrated safe driving record
- Must be able to successfully complete medical and psychological exams, and criminal background investigation with credit history check
- Must qualify for Police Officer appointment under Department of Criminal Justice System guidelines
- Have never committed, been involved in, or convicted of a felony or serious misdemeanor.
- Be of good character and reputation
- Must be able to communicate clearly and effectively orally and in writing in English
- Must have a stable work history
- Have the ability to perform essential job functions with or without a reasonable accommodation
Criminal Activity Must have never committed, been involved in or been convicted of a felony or serious misdemeanor.
Discrepancies Applicants must not misrepresent, misinform, mislead, or provide inaccurate, untruthful or distorted information in the background questionnaire or during any part of the selection process.
West Virginia Sheriff Deputy Requirements
All counties in West Virginia have a sheriffs department or office responsible for overseeing several aspects of law enforcement within the county. These offices are staffed by deputies who take on several roles including prisoner guarding and transport, road patrolling, and criminal investigations, among many others. Requirements for West Virginia sheriffs deputies are similar to those for police officers.
Read Also: How Do You Fix An Incorrect Police Report
Virginia Assault On A Police Officer Charges
Assault and battery is generally a misdemeanor offense in Virginia. A person can commit battery through any offensive or harmful conduct, which can be as minor as throwing a snowball or small object at someone, if the person makes some contact with the victim and intended harm to the victim. An assault is an intentional act that makes a person think that he will be offensively touched or intentionally harmed.
Under Virginia Code § 18.2-57, it is a Class 6 felony to commit an assault and battery on a law enforcement officer. Since a battery is any unwanted touching, these charges can be raised for any minor action of a suspect. This law applies to police officers and many other government officials, including:
- Rescue squad personnel
If you are convicted of this offense, you face a mandatory minimum prison sentence of six months in jail that can be increased to one to five years in prison. You may also be fined a maximum of $2,500.
Assault On A Police Officer Offenses
In order to be convicted of assault on a police officer, the state must prove that:
- You committed an assault against the complainant police officer
- You knew or had reason to know at the time of the assault that the victim was a police or other sworn law enforcement officer and
- The police officer was engaged in the performance of official duties at the time of the offense.
Under this statute, assault is defined by the criminal code as an overt act that is either intended to do bodily harm to the law enforcement official or put that police officer in fear of imminent bodily harm. The defendant also needs to have present ability to cause such harm. This means that in the police officers mind, you have the ability to make good on your overt physical threat. If the assault is followed by any physical contact, it can be charged as assault and battery.
If you are convicted for this offense in Virginia, your punishment could include a prison term of one to five years and/or a fine of up to $2,500. It should be noted that in addition to these potential harsh punishments, any conviction includes a mandatory minimum six month jail sentence. If the officer is significantly injured, the courts tend to be more severe when handing down sentences, which means you could end up serving the maximum prison term.
Read Also: How To Get A Police Clearance Letter
Selection Process Overview To Become A Police Officer In Virginia
Because the Virginia State Police is committed to selecting the most qualified cadets to join the Force, the process is rather lengthy and can take up to 10 months. Selecting the candidates is generally done in 3 phases:
Physical And Written Examination
The candidates of the West Virginia police who meet the prerequisites will be invited to take the physical and respectively, the written examination in order to determine their aptitudes. These exams can be administered on the same day, but failing the physical test deems you ineligible for the written one.
For more information on becoming a police officer in West Virginia, visit the West Virginia state police website or call 746-2117 .
to check out the various police officer jobs in West Virginia.
Recommended Reading: How To Become A Veterans Affairs Police Officer
Education And Driving Skills Requirement In Becoming A Police Officer In West Virginia
Even though in West Virginia the minimum level of education requested from the candidates in order to determine their eligibility is at the high school level, most police departments will favor applicants with at least an Associates Degree education, preferably in a relevant domain.
In respect to the driving skills, the candidate should have received the license at least two years prior to submitting the application. At the same time, the driving license needs to be valid in the state of West Virginia and clear of all legal restrictions.
Obstruction Of Justice Charges
You may also be charged with obstruction of justice if you prevent the police officer from performing his duties. This offense can also be charged with obstructing a judge, juror, prosecutor, or attorney. Virginia Code § 18.2-57 makes it illegal to obstruct justice knowingly and without just cause. You may be charged with this for:
- Using force or threats of force to impede a police officer
- Threatening body harm to impede a police officer
- Making a false representation to a police officer who is investigating a crime
Obstruction of justice is generally a Class 1 misdemeanor with a possible sentence of up to 12 months in jail and a fine of up to $2,500. However, a person can be charged with a Class 5 felony if he knowingly attempts to intimidate or impede a police officer and does so in a court in relation to a drug offense or felony.
Don’t Miss: How To Obtain A Copy Of Police Report Online
Also An Applicant May Be Eliminated From Further Consideration On A Case By Case Basis For A Variety Of Reasons Including But Not Limited To:
- Illegal use, sale, or transportation of Schedule III drugs or of prescription drugs
- An extensive history of traffic violations
- Commission of undetected crimes of a serious or repetitive nature
- Continual or unexplained poor financial responsibilities
- Uncorrected vision greater than 20/100
Although individuals with minimum qualifications may apply, only those with the greatest job related experience, education, qualifications, and brightest background history will be selected.
What If I Am Already A Dcjs
Virginia Department of Criminal Justice Services Law Enforcement certified officers are processed on a continual basis, and the written test is waived for certified officers. Certified candidates must complete the Lawfit obstacle course in 1:36 or less. Sergeant Chris Menck to begin the process. Those officers who are DCJS-certified in a state other than Virginia must attend the police academy and are subject to the complete requirements of the non-certified hiring process.
Virginia Assault On A Police Officer
Though simple assault in Virginia is a criminal misdemeanor, Section 18.2-57 of the Code of Virginia classifies assault and battery against a law enforcement officer as a Class 6 felony. These crimes are pursued especially aggressively by prosecutors as crimes against law enforcement officials are viewed as particularly egregious. In order to avoid suffering the long-term negative consequences associated with a conviction, if you have been accused of assault on a police officer , contact a Virginia APO attorney who can provide you with more information regarding the charges and the best way to fight them.
Can You Tell Me More About Rrcja
Fredericksburg Police officers attend the Rappahannock Regional Criminal Justice Academy. The academy is about 20 weeks long and a typical schedule will include 10-hour days from Monday- Thursday. RRCJA is a regional academy and has over 30 member agencies. Recruits will travel to-and-from the academy each day the academy is not live-in. Physical fitness training at the academy will include push-ups, sit-ups, pull-ups, 1.5 mile 2 mile runs, and an obstacle course.
Also Check: How Do You Make A Police Report Online
Virginia Deputy Sheriff Requirements
Virginia sheriffs and deputy sheriffs work in detention centers, provide security at courthouses, and provide rural patrol and law enforcement services. To become a Virginia deputy sheriff, you must at least meet the state minimums for law enforcement officers. Some departments may have additional qualifications for candidates.
What Are The Preferred Qualifications For The Position
Associate Degree or higher in Conservation, Criminal Justice, Criminology, Forestry, Sociology, Wildlife Resources, or other job related field, 4 or more years of relevant work or volunteer experience may be substituted for education Current Virginia DCJS Law Enforcement certification Interest in hunting, fishing, boating and other outdoor activities Career Readiness Certificate Bi-lingual Community involvement.
You May Like: When’s The Next Police Auction
Virginia Trooper Or Highway Patrol Requirements
The Virginia State Police manages enforcement on over 64,000 miles of roads and highways in Virginia.2 The VSP maintains multiple specialty units to which troopers may apply after two years of patrol service. These include an arson/bomb unit, a counter-terrorism and criminal interdiction unit, and a hazardous material unit. To become a Virginia state trooper, you must:
- Live in a state east of the Mississippi at the time of application
- Be at least 21 years of age
- Have a high school diploma or GED
- Be a US citizen
- Have a valid drivers license and good driving record
- Meet the agencys proportionate height and weight standards
- Not have any disqualifying body art or modifications
- Be willing to relocate to anywhere in the state
- Not have any past or recent disqualifying history of drug use, including marijuana
- Not have any driving under the influence convictions within the past five years, nor more than one conviction in a lifetime
Conservation Police Officer Recruiting Information
- Virginia Conservation Police
- Conservation Police Officer Recruiting Information
If you have a passion for the outdoors and want to serve your community, a career as a Conservation Police Officer may be right for you. If youre up for the challenge, the Virginia Department of Wildlife Resources is now accepting applications for multiple duty assignments throughout Virginia.
The deadline for applications during this recruitment period has passed.
Have questions? See or contact the Training and Recruiting Section at 367-3443 or .
Read Also: What Do You Do To Become A Police Officer
Requirements For Becoming A Virginia Police Officer
To become a Virginia state police officer, you will need to fulfill the following basic requirements:
- Candidates should be at least 18 years old.
- They must have a high school diploma or a GED.
- They should be US citizens.
- Candidates must have a valid drivers license.
- Candidates ought to have no convicted felonies on their record.
Minimum Requirements To Become A Police Officer In Virginia
- Must be at least 21 years of age at the date of hiring.
- Must have at least a high school diploma or GED .
- Has to be a U.S. citizen on the day of the exam.
- Must have a valid U.S. drivers license along with a good driving record.
- Must be of good moral character to be determined by a background investigation.
- Willing to travel around Virginia at their own expense to finish all test and screening requirements.
- Willing to be relocated anywhere in the state of Virginia based on the needs of the department.
- Willing to work at rotating shifts and on weekends.
Don’t Miss: How To Find A Police Report For A Car Accident
Will I Know Prior To Applying What Counties Are Open
Yes. A list of anticipated duty stations will be available to prospective applicants when the notification of vacancy is announced. This list of prospective duty stations will be continuously updated during the hiring process, and applicants will have the opportunity to state which duty stations they wish to be considered for. The current vacancies are:
Vision And Hearing Requirements
- Possess a binocular visual acuity of at least 20/20 . If uncorrected, visual acuity should be 20/100 or better and 20/200 or better in the worse eye.
- Should pass the minimum requirements for color vision testing with or without corrected lenses.
- Has to be capable of hearing frequencies of 500, 1000, 2000 and 3000 Hz at a pure tone level of 25 decibels or less and not greater than 45 decibels at 4000 and 6000 Hz which will be verified by an audiometer test.
Recommended Reading: How To Find Police Records Online For Free
Career And Employment Outlook For Cops In Hinton
Selecting a profession is a significant decision. One of the major things to factor in while doing so is how the future looks in the profession. The occupational outlook of every job is normally dispensed by the Bureau of Labor Statistics. The components that are taken into account while foreseeing this comprise of the necessity of that job in the future and the spending patterns of employers. Let us look at the career prospects for a police officer.
Back in 2014 cops, there were around 806,000 jobs occupied by law enforcement officers. It is predicted that this will grow by 4% in the following decade. This rate of expansion is more lethargic than the median of other professions. This translates to 33,000 novel openings being produced for cops in the next ten years. Because cops are typically hired by the government, their employment is influenced a great deal by the political atmosphere in a region. Some cities may want to spend more on police officers while others may want to direct their budget to other forms of development.
Police Departments In West Virginia
From the larger cities of Charleston and Huntington to the rural villages of the Appalachian Mountains, West Virginia is a diverse state with a wide range of police departments and law enforcement career paths. While the state sets minimum guidelines for police certification and training, individual departments may set their own requirements on top of these guidelines.
Read Also: How To Get A Job At The Police Department
How Much Does A Police Officer Make In Hinton West Virginia
Cops have great work ethic. They put their lives in jeopardy in order to do their job. Nevertheless, their income can be considered as nickels and cents when compared to the incomes of physicians or Veterinarians. They are privy to a lot of paybacks being a police officer, though. A police officers income is determined by factors such as the location he is assigned to work in, what unit he is a part of, and his or her work hours. Now we will use this chance to reveal to you the typical salary of dissimilar law enforcement officials and show how they can earn more.
Becoming A Henrico County Police Officer
Thank you for your interest in becoming a Police Officer with Henrico Police Division! We are proud to be one of 17 agencies world-wide to be Tri-Arc accredited through CALEA. We seek applicants who value honor, professionalism, commitment, compassion and accountability.
If selected for a position with the division, you would become a member of one of the most respected and professional law enforcement agencies in the nation.
Also Check: How To Complain About A Police Officer
From Application To Graduation
Youve completed the hiring process submitted your application, underwent the countless tests and interviews, and finally got the call youve been waiting for youve been offered a position to become a Henrico County Police Officer! So, whats next? Show up for work on Monday and get your uniform and badge? Not quite
The next step in becoming a Henrico County Police Officer is to graduate from the 32-week Basic Training Academy. The academy is designed to prepare and train you for your career ahead. Heres a closer look at what you can expect.
TIP: In the time between when you apply and before the academy begins, focus on your physical fitness! Being prepared not only will help you throughout the academy, it will demonstrate to police training staff youre serious about the job.