Sunday, April 14, 2024

Do Private Investigators Work With Police

Don't Miss

Obtain The Necessary Education And Training In North Dakota

Do Police Departments hire Private Investigators to spy on private citizens? A Real P.I. Tells All!

You will need to have a substantial amount of experience to obtain your license to be a private investigator in North Dakota. The state requires that you have worked as a registered employee for a detective agency and have provided 2000 hours of investigative services in this manner.

To be an attractive candidate and to help you prepare for the exam, you may want to consider obtaining a formal degree in criminal justice. This will help train you in the analytical skills that are required to be a top-notch investigator and will help you in navigating the legal system as you perform your job.

You can obtain an associates or a bachelors degree in criminal justice from schools within the state or from online schools that offer such degrees. You may also want to take some courses in business management, as there will be questions in this area when you take your exam.

Armed PI Training To work as an armed private investigator in North Dakota requires special training. You will need to comply with all state and federal laws governing the use of firearms. The state requires that you receive the same training as peace officers.

You will have to take an exam that has both a written part and a portion in which you demonstrate your skills with using a firearm. To pass this, you will have to score 70% overall and 100% on the portion about North Dakotas laws.

Fulfill Education And Experience Prerequisites For Private Detectives In Connecticut

Training in private detective work or a related discipline may count towards up to one year of the states experience requirements for licensure as a private detective.

Obtaining a degree such as these may be quite helpful to you as an applicant for a private detective license in Connecticut:

  • Associate of Science in Criminal Justice Technology
  • Bachelor of Science in Criminal Justice Technology
  • Bachelor of Science in Justice Studies- Criminal Justice
  • Bachelor of Business Administration in Legal Studies
  • Bachelor of Science in Criminal Justice- Homeland Security Technology

Any of the following full-time work experiences may count towards the experience requirement for licensure of private detectives in Connecticut:

  • Five years as a licensed private detective in another jurisdiction
  • Five years as a registered private investigator in another jurisdiction
  • Five years operating a proprietary detective agency
  • Five years as an investigator with local, state or federal government
  • Five years as a detective with local, state or federal police department
  • Five years of investigative experience in another recognized industry
  • 10 years as a police officer with a municipal, state or federal police department

You are not permitted to currently be a police officer when you apply to become a private detective in Connecticut.

Private Investigators And The Law

Private investigators work within the confines of the law. Despite the sometimes-uncouth behavior of fictional P.I.s, real ones will only do what they are legally allowed to do. So, that raises the question: what can a private investigator do legally?

Some of the specifics of what a private investigator can do legally depend on the state. However, no matter where you are, they can perform surveillance in public spaces, use public records to perform background checks and talk to people. If they are involved in a criminal matter, they can interview witnesses and may have access to law enforcement resources.

A private investigator will only access private property that he or she has permission to access. For example, if you want someone to check your home or business to check for surveillance equipment, a P.I. can do that. Conversely, if you want someone to break into someone elses home or business to conduct surveillance, a private investigator cannot legally do that.

Read Also: How Much Does It Cost To Train A Police Dog

Educational And Training Preparations In Idaho

Education Preparations

Before opening up a shop as a private investigator you should prepare yourself to be as competitive in your field as possible. Having either education or experience will show your potential customers that you have qualifications to back up your job description.

There are a number of degree and certificate programs available in schools across the state through which residents can gain pertinent qualifications for private investigator jobs in Idaho, as well as to better facilitate future career mobility. Relevant degree options include:

  • Criminal Justice
  • Law Enforcement

Training Preparations

There are also a variety of training and certification classes available across the state in areas that develop critical private investigator skills. These include:

  • Firearms and non-lethal weapons courses
  • CPR and first aid
  • Homeland security classes

Get To Work In Montana

So What Can a Private Investigator NOT Do?

Once you have successfully completed the examination, you will receive your license as a private investigator in Montana. You may choose to join a professional association, such as the Montana Association of Private Investigators or the United States Association of Professional Investigators, or obtain professional certification through an association such as ASIS International, which offers the Professional Certified Investigator designation for private investigators with at least 5 years of experience.

You May Like: What Is The Best Police Scanner On The Market

Police Investigator Vs Private Investigators

There are a few parallels between police and private investigators. People in both professions gather and analyze evidence to understand the facts of a case. Some private investigators may even have worked as police investigators previously.

However, private investigators may work on a range of matters whereas police only concern themselves with public safety and criminal law. Additionally, although private investigators sometimes work with the police, they do not have the same powers. With this information in mind, hopefully, you are better prepared to know what to expect when you hire a private investigator.

Submit Fingerprint Cards In New Mexico

All candidates forprivate investigator licensesmust provide 2 full sets of fingerprints to qualify for licensure.

You can obtain blank fingerprint cards by contacting the Regulation and Licensing Department at 505-476-4650. You must have them completed by a New Mexico state police officer, county sheriff or municipal chief of police.

You must submit your completed fingerprint cards to the department, along with a check or money order in the amount of $44 to cover the FBI and state background investigation. Mail the completed fingerprint cards and fee to:

Fingerprint Section

NM Department of Public Safety

P.O. Box 1628

Santa Fe, NM 87504-1628

Don’t Miss: How To Find Police Report Car Accident

Submit Your West Virginia Application And Pay Fees

The processing fee to apply for the license is $50, which is non-refundable. Additional fees are $150 for West Virginia residents and $550 for non-West Virginia residents for the actual licensing once your application is approved.

Once the application is approved you must register a business in West Virginia as either a sole proprietor or corporation if youll be establishing your own agency.

In order to keep up with laws and education, it would be wise to join an industry association. The Private Investigator and Security Professionals of West Virginia are a good place to start.

Meet Pennsylvania Requirements To Obtain A License

Dont go to the police. Private investigator explains what to do if youre being followed by a car.

You must meet the following requirements to become a private investigator in Pennsylvania:

  • Be a U.S. citizen
  • Law enforcement agent
  • Not have been convicted of any of the following:
  • Felony
  • Illegally using, carrying, or possessing a dangerous weapon
  • Making or possessing instruments for burglary
  • Unlawfully entering a building
  • Unlawfully distributing or possessing habit-forming narcotic drugs
  • Picking pockets
  • Recklessly endangering another person
  • Soliciting a person to commit sodomy or other lewdness
  • Making threats of terrorism
  • Read Also: How To Get Into The Police Department

    Get To Work In Michigan

    The Michigan Council of Private Investigators is a good source for finding work in the State of Michigan as a private investigator. Membership in the Council may provide you with a number of opportunities for networking and information regarding the private investigation practice in the state.

    Note: According to the Professional Investigator Licensure Act, all private investigators in Michigan must be fingerprinted upon being hired by an agency.

    Professional certification in this field is often advantageous for career advancement and professional achievement. ASIS International offers the Professional Certified Investigator certification, which requires at least 5 years of experience in investigations, 2 of which must be in case management.

    Applying With The Private Investigator Licensing Services Bureau In Iowa

    When completing a license for private investigator jobs in Iowa, make sure to include the following along with your complete application:

    • Two fingerprint cards
    • $140 total fee for fingerprinting, licensing, and ID card
    • Proof of a surety bond of at least $5,000
    • Proof of liability insurance covering accidents, wrongdoings, and subsequent consequences

    Don’t Miss: How To Be A Police Officer In Ny

    Information From A Private Investigator Can Lead To A Persons Arrest

    Private investigators are able to gather evidence when theyre conducting surveillance, with restrictions that vary from state to state. When they are gathering evidence, if they do find evidence of a crime, they can contact the police department to alert them to the crime. They can then document as much as possible about the crime while they wait for law enforcement officers to arrive. The private investigator can then hand over any evidence they might have to the police officers who arrive at the scene. The information gained by the private investigator can then be used against the arrested person in court to secure a conviction. All evidence that is handed over to law enforcement needs to be gained legally, but private investigators do have a lot of ways to gather evidence before speaking with the police about a crime.

    Differences Demand And Salaries

    Do Private Investigators Work with the Police Delhi

    Police officers must meet specific requirements that do not apply to a PI. For example, the BLS notes a police officer must be a U.S. citizen, at least 21 years old, and must pass physical as well as written exams. PIs must typically have a bachelors degree to perform specialized investigations such as corporate investigation or computer forensics work, while police officers must complete police academy training. Demand for PIs is higher than for police officers, according to the BLS, with projected job growth of 11 and 5 percent, respectively, from 2012 to 2022. Average job growth for all occupations is projected to be 11 percent for the same period. PIs earned an average annual salary of $53,890 in 2013, while police officers earned $58,720 a year.

    Read Also: How To Become A Police Woman

    Private Investigator Salary Information For Missouri

    According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics , private investigators in Missouri earned an annual, average salary of $50,730 as of May 2020. Get a few years of experience under your belt and a nice list of clients and you may soon find yourself among the top 10% here who enjoy an annual average salary of $91,610.

    Salary data for selected cities in Missouri are listed below. The average annual salary is followed by that of private investigators in the 90th percentile:

    The state of Missouri started requiring licenses for private investigators in the state in 2007. They are provided by the Missouri Department of Insurance, Financial Institutions & Professional Regulation.

    Applicants must be at least 21 years old and pass a background check and a two-hour licensing exam to obtain a license from the. Liability insurance is also required in the form of a $250,000 business general liability policy.

    Once they have been licensed, most private investigators work for investigation and security services. Others work for state or local governments. Additional sources of employment are with the management of companies. A substantial number of private investigators work in legal services.

    The highest salaries for private investigators tend to be in technical fields such as aerospace manufacturing, computer systems design, and the manufacturing of navigational and electromedical devices.

    Private Investigator Salaries in Missouri

    Private Investigator Salary Information For Massachusetts

    investigators in Massachusetts was $51,060 as of May 2020. The top 10% of professionalsthose with the most impressive credentials and success storiesearn $94,224.

    In particular, Framingham and Worcester are good places to find PI jobs in the state. Both are in the top metropolitan areas in the U.S. with the highest concentration of jobs in this field.

    A license from the Department of Public Safety is required to become a private investigator in Massachusetts. Applicants must have recommendation letters from three reputable citizens of the state and cannot have been convicted of a felony. Three years of experience is required in one of the following:

    • Doing investigative work as a detective
    • Having been a member of a U.S. investigative service
    • Having been a police officer

    Police officers who have been employed for ten years in good standing can also apply for a private investigators license.

    Detailed employment and salary data from the BLS is available for a number of cities in Massachusetts. This is shown in the table below.

    Private Investigator Salaries in Massachusetts

    You May Like: What Do You Do As A Police Officer

    Start Work As A Private Investigator In South Dakota

    Once you have obtained your sales tax license and checked with your city or county to make sure you have complied with any local rules, you can start work as a private investigator.

    If you want to work for a detective agency, there are several prominent ones that sometimes offer jobs to aspiring private investigators in South Dakota:

    • Executive Services Consultants
    • Stealth Investigative Agency

    Do I Need To Be A Cop Before I Become A Private Investigator

    What Cops Think About Private Investigators

    Private investigators are glorified and glamorized in movies and television. In real life, the job is interesting and sometimes exciting, but most private investigators spend long hours poring over details or observing subjects at home or work. Although many private investigators have backgrounds in law enforcement, there are other ways to gain the required knowledge and skill.

    Also Check: How Do I Obtain A Copy Of A Police Report

    Private Investigator Salary Information For Arkansas

    According to 2020 salary data from the Bureau of Labor Statistics, the annual median salary for private investigators in Arkansas is $77,980. As per the May 2020 BLS statistics thats about $19,000 more than the national median for these pros. The salaries of those that live in Arkansas near Memphis are factored into the Memphis salary for PIs. Licensing is required to become a private investigator in Arkansas. The state has tasked the Arkansas State Police with regulating private investigators. They created the Arkansas Board of Private Investigators and Private Security Agencies.

    Experience is required to obtain a license to be a private investigator. Applicants must have two consecutive years of experience working as private investigators. They also have to pass a state board exam for PIs and undergo a thorough background check.

    One way to gain experience is to work as an apprentice. Applicants for positions at detective agencies can enhance their desirability by obtaining degrees in criminal justice. Once private investigators have been licensed to practice in Arkansas, they may be interested in joining the Arkansas Association of Professional Private Investigators. Networking with fellow PIs can prove to be invaluable.

    Apply For A Private Investigator License In Missouri

    To become a private investigator in Missouri, you must complete an Application for Licensure Private Investigator or Application for Licensure Private Investigator Agency and submit the following:

    • $500 application fee (check or money order made payable to the Board of Private Investigator and Private Fire Investigator Examiners
    • Two passport-style photographs
    • Proof of liability and workers compensation insurance of no less than $250,000
    • A complete set of fingerprints You must submit a set of fingerprints to the Board. You may choose to have your fingerprints electronically collected by registering with the Missouri Automated Criminal History site and scheduling an appointment to have your fingerprints collected by Cogent 3M by visiting and choosing Click here to access MACHS Fingerprint Search Portal.

    Once your application and related documentation are received, you can expect a follow-up email informing you when your application will be reviewed by the Board.

    You May Like: When Is Police Shift Change

    Education And Training For A Career As An Arizona Private Investigator

    It is recommended that individuals interested in a private investigator license in Arizona acquire an associates or bachelors degree in criminal justice or a related subject. Many top private detective agencies prefer candidates with a bachelors degree or even a law degree. There are more than 35 schools in Arizona, as well as numerous online schools, that have criminal justice programs. There are also colleges and private institutions that offer certificates in private investigation.

    The Arizona Association of Licensed Private Investigators is dedicated to bringing professionalism to the investigative industry. They provide an opportunity for networking and present educational programs on topics such as utilizing the latest computer technologies. In addition, the AALPI lobbies against laws that attempt to limit access to public records or impose regulations detrimental to investigative work.

    Start Work As A Private Investigator In North Dakota

    Do Private Investigators Work with the Police?

    Now that you have received your license, you can start working as a private investigator. The state requires that you conspicuously post your license at your place of business. They will send you a laminated pocket card that you should use as you interview people.

    You will need to renew your license annually, and it is a crime not to do so if you are working as a North Dakota PI. Licenses expire on September 30, and you have 30 days to renew them so that it continues to be valid.

    You May Like: How To Find A Police Officer To Date

    Private Investigator Salary Information For Utah

    .According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics , as of May 2020, the annual, average salary for PIs was $66,040. While this is well above the national average of $53,331, the real money here is reserved for those PIs who have put in a few years of work and earned themselves a strong reputation in the industry. The most experienced PIs punched right through the six-figure mark, with the top 10% making an average of $120,280 during this time.

    Provo is a particularly lucrative city in which to be a private investigator. This metropolitan area has the ninth highest level of salaries for PIs of any metropolitan area in the country. The occupation of private investigation is ranked among the top 100 paying jobs in Provo.

    Salary data from the BLS by the city is provided below:

    The Department of Workforce Services projects annual growth in this field to be 3.6% a year. Due to the influx of law enforcement and military retirees into this occupation, the state projects entry-level positions in detective agencies to be the most likely places for jobseekers to find work.

    Utahs Department of Public Safety Bureau of Criminal Identification requires a license to become a private investigator in the state. Applicants must be at least 21 years old and undergo a thorough background check.

    Detailed information on the salaries of private investigators who worked in Provo and Salt Lake City in 2020 is available from the BLS and is shown below.

    Private Investigator Salaries in Utah

    More articles

    Popular Articles