Saturday, April 13, 2024

How To File A Police Report After A Car Accident

Don't Miss

How Long Do You Have To Report An Accident To The Police

Should you file a police report after an auto accident?

The state requires law enforcement officers to file a written report within 24 hours of the accident. These reports are available from the North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles for a fee of $5. Search fora free copy of your accident report via the North Carolina Department of Public Safetys website.

Each report must include the following information but can also include more detail if the officer is so inclined:

  • The cause of the crash.
  • The conditions existing at the time of the crash.
  • The people and the vehicles involved in the crash.
  • Notation of any vehicles seized under statute 20-28.2
  • Insurance information of any driver whom the law enforcement officer believes to have been at fault.

At theRhine Law Firm, P.C., we understand that being involved in a wreck is a stressful event. We are ready to assist you in understanding and complying with your legal responsibilities as well as seeking compensation for injuries that were caused by another driver.

Insurance companies are in business to make money, which can come into conflict with paying an injured victim the full compensation that he or she deserves. Our lawyers have several decades of experience defending the rights of injury victims and assisting them on their road to recovery.

Please call toschedule a consultation and learn how Rhine Law Firm, P.C. can help you after your vehicle crash.

Do You Need A Lawyer Even If You Dont Go To Trial

You dont need a lawyer, but you should still have one. Lawyers do not go to trial in most cases. In fact, in most cases, the accident is settled through negotiations.

However, negotiating with the opposing insurance company is generally a bad idea. Insurance companies know what to say and do to save money. It is important to have an expert who knows how to deal with insurance companies on your side.

That does not mean that the lawyer does not file suit for you, however. Filing suit puts substantial more pressure on the opposing insurance company and can show them you mean business. Remember, insurance companies can be aggressive, and train their employees to give you less money than they should.

Filing suit is just another way to push them to give you what you deserve. Still filing suit is a complicated process, and it is important to have an expert on your side when you are going against experts at the insurance company.

Furthermore, attorneys have been through this process before, so they know exactly what to say to the opposing insurance company to get you the money you need.

If A Police Officer Was Present At The Scene

  • If you were involved in an accident and a police officer was called to the scene to obtain all the needed information, you do not need to provide any forms unless you receive a letter from the Department of Revenue
  • If you are sent a notice by the department it will inform you of what needs to be done.

Recommended Reading: How To Find Public Police Reports

Should I File A Police Report

You should file a police report as soon as possible, regardless of who was at fault. There are several reasons for filing a police report immediately. First, the report is the only official document that will prove that the accident occurred. This report will help you document the date, time, and location, or any other relevant details of the accident. It also provides an opportunity to describe how the accident occurred and draw your depiction of the crash.

These details will come in handy when you are seeking for compensation. The report also informs the police about the accident they will arrive on the scene, collect any pieces of evidence, and witness statements. The police will also summon medical assistance and help get your car to a safe location.

Reports From Car Wrecks Can Play A Key Role In Personal Injury Cases

Do I Have to File a Police Report After a Car Accident ...

While you may technically have a few days, a week, or a month to file this type of report, there are several reasons why you should file it as soon as possible. In most cases, unless the accident is very, very minor, and you do not intend to repair your vehicle, you should call law enforcement to the scene to complete the report.

Not only is it easier for you to call on the police and let them handle the process, but it also does several things to help your case later on if you need to file a liability insurance claim against the at-fault driver or take the case to civil court. This includes:

  • Establishes a time and a place when your personal injuries likely occurred, especially when immediately followed by medical care.
  • Ensures the police officer has an opportunity to interview witnesses on the scene.
  • Allows the police officer to analyze what happened more clearly.
  • Offers a better opportunity for the other driver to receive a citation for their traffic infractions that led to the accident.

In all of these examples, filing your car wreck report from the accident scene with local law enforcement may offer additional evidence to support your car accident case. This can go a long way in proving fault and liability, the severity of your accident injuries, and your accident-related losses.

Recommended Reading: How Long Does It Take To Complete Police Academy

If A Police Officer Was Not Present At The Scene

  • If a police officer was not called to the scene of the accident you may file an accident report online.
  • If an accident report is filed online by an individual, the report does not get investigated by a law enforcement agency. The reports are kept for record purposes only.
  • Provide the other driver with your:
  • Name

What Happens When You File A Police Report After An Accident

Following a car accident, it is important to file a police report to ensure all the details are legally documented. Doing so will protect everyone involved in the accident. Of course, this means, any time you are involved in a car accident, no matter how small, you should contact local law enforcement.

Remember not all injuries and damages are apparent at the scene, and filing a report will keep the details of what happened accurate. In some states, it is a legal requirement to notify police, while in others they will determine whether or not they are needed on the scene. Either way, by notifying the local police, you are protecting yourself and your interests and obeying the law.

You May Like: How To Search Police Reports For Free

Know How To Contact The Officer Who Filed Your Report

After the accident report is filed, make sure you get a card and/or direct contact information from the police officer who filed the report.

Often after an accident, you may only remember details after you’ve rested and calmed down. These details can be very important, especially if the car accident claim snowballs into a lawsuit.

If you find you have remembered some key details after the accident report is filed, contact the police officer and see if you can add these details to the accident report.

Accidents With Less Than $2000 Damage But Still Are Required To Be Reported

Should You File A Police Report After A Car Accident? | McKinney Personal Injury Lawyer

There are certain instances where you are still need to report an accident, even if there is less than $2,000 damage :

  • A crime was committed impaired driving, stolen vehicle, etc.
  • There is an injury
  • A vehicle is transporting dangerous goods
  • The accident involves a government vehicle
  • The driver is uninsured or doesnt have a license
  • There is damage to private property
  • The accident involved a pedestrian or cyclist

Also Check: How Can I Check My Police Report Online

Filing A Police Report Is Not Automatically Making An Insurance Claim

A police report is simply a legal record of the details of the accident. You will then have to decide if you want to file an insurance claim. In some cases, when damages are small and there are no injuries, the parties involved will make the necessary financial arrangements, rather than filing an insurance claim. Keep in mind, that going this route can put you at risk in the future. The accident report can provide your insurance company with a precise report of what happened and help them handle your claim appropriately and represent you properly should any questions or issues arise.

Standard Car Accident Investigation Procedures

The police have many important duties to perform once they arrive at the accident scene, starting by providing safety and establishing order. Law enforcement officers typically go by the following car accident investigation procedure:

  • Secure the accident scene
  • Take down information of the drivers involved
  • Gather witness statements
  • Take pictures of the accident scene
  • if the car is undrivable or poses a risk to public safety
  • Issue citations or put people under arrest

Recommended Reading: What Is A Good Gift For A Police Academy Graduation

Get The Compensation You Deserve For Your Injuries

Theres so much to do after a car accident, from getting your car fixed to dealing with auto insurance investigations to worrying about lost wages, and all at a time when you may be healing from personal injuries and are facing long-term pain. Thats why it makes sense to contact an experienced personal injury lawyer.

The attorneys at McIntyre Law have worked extensively on car wrecks, motorcycle accidents, and even collisions involving tractor-trailers. We know what youre going through, and we can help. McIntyre will work tirelessly to get you the financial security youll need to move forward with your life.

If youve suffered an injury and think you need a personal injury lawyer, call us today. Our attorneys want to hear your story.

Hit And Run Police Report

How Long Do You Have to File a Police Report After a Car ...

Accidents involving a hit and run by one or more parties can result in serious penalties so it especially necessary to make a hit and run police report. Hit and runs are illegal and can result in license revocation and even criminal charges.

Filing a police report for a hit and run is imperative even if you do not have much information about the other party or their vehicle.

Don’t Miss: How Do I Become A Police Officer

Reporting An Accident To The Police After The Fact

Depending on the situation of your accident, police officers may not come to the scene to file a police report. The absence of police can be for a multitude of factors. If the collision is minor enough, a police officer may not show up, but make sure you call them regardless and follow their instructions.

Other factors include the location of the accident or the weather. Regardless of the police not coming to the scene, reporting an accident to police after the fact is always crucial. Having an official written statement of the collision may help you if you decide to pursue a future settlement or lawsuit.

Another main reason why police may not come to file a police report for a car accident is if there are no injuries. Speaking with the police about any injuries that may have occurred will help them determine if they will come to the scene of the accident or decide not to. If law enforcement declines to come to the accident scene, reporting an accident to police after the fact is of utmost importance. When you call the police to report the accident at the scene, make sure to describe what you see. If there are any injuries, they will be able to help guide you in next steps.

If there is a public emergency such as a natural disaster or pandemic restrictions, police may not show up to the accident. Your accident is still important, but there may be factors at large that prevent officers from leaving another situation or responding to one such as a minor collision.

What To Do If The Police Dont Come

If a police officer doesnt come to the scene of the auto accident, you can actually go to the police department to file your report. You can often do so online or at the police station.

You can also file an accident report with the DMV. In some cases, you may actually be required to do so. Visit our page on filing accident reports with the DMV to learn more.

Remember, the more documentation you have, the more evidence you have to support your claim.

Recommended Reading: How To Apply To Be A Police Officer In California

Know When You Need To File A Police Report

Page ContentsContact Tenge Law Firm For Assistance

In Colorado, almost every vehicle collision must be reported to the police. A law enforcement officer will typically come to the scene, gather evidence, call in medical services if necessary, and file an accident report on what happened.

You may think a minor accident is no big deal and there is no reason to involve the police, but not all injuries show up right away, and its important to document the facts.

Once law enforcement arrives, they might talk to you and make a statement, and knowing what to say can help you in the long run.

You can lose out on potential compensation if you say the wrong thing to a police officer.

If you have questions about getting your Colorado car accident report or need immediate assistance, please contact us online or call for a free consultation.

Trusted New York Personal Injury Attorneys Can Help

How to File a Police Report After a Car Accident – Bachus & Schanker

The experience of a car crash can be traumatic. Car accident victims might be inclined to skip the report altogether, but there can be legal ramifications for doing so. Failure to file a written police report with the DMV can result in fines, jail time, and criminal charges. While filing a report can be inconvenient, its better than the other legal consequences.

If youve been involved in a car accident, contact The Barnes Firms best car accident lawyers in Buffalo so they can help. Their personal injury attorneys are well versed in the laws surrounding auto accidents and personal injury claims with decades of combined experience. Call them today to schedule your FREE consultation and to get the answers that you need.

The Barnes Firm 800-0000

Read Also: How To File A Police Report For Stolen Wallet

The Basics Of A Police Report

A police report tells what happened in an accident. It tells what the officer saw and learned about the event. It also states the officer’s opinion. You need this report to protect yourself after an accident. You also need it to talk to your insurance company and get payment quickly. Even though insurance companies have their own investigators, they use police reports to learn more about the accident.

Police reports are for accidents that happen on public roads. Police don’t usually investigate accidents on private property unless someone is hurt or breaking the law. You’ll have to write down the details about a fender bender that happens in your friend’s driveway or in a parking lot.

Do Contact A Car Accident Lawyer

You have only a limited time to file a personal injury or wrongful death lawsuit after a traffic accident in Illinois. You should not delay contacting a lawyer.

At Salvi, Schostok & Pritchard P.C., we offer initial consultations that are free, confidential and carry no obligations. The bottom line is that we want you to get legal help right away.

When you engage a car accident lawyer after a car wreck, that lawyer will work hard to protect your interests. No one else will fill this role. Even your insurance company is looking out for its bottom line first as it determines a settlement for your claim.

Your attorney can investigate your case, file all necessary paperwork and seek compensation you deserve for your medical expenses, lost income, pain and suffering and more.

For more information, call Salvi, Schostok & Pritchard P.C., today toll free or contact us through our convenient online form. Were ready to help you.

Don’t Miss: How To Report Someone To The Police Anonymously

Free & Confidential Consultation With A New York Personal Injury Attorney

OConnor and Partners is a personal injury law firm based in Kingston, NY and providing legal services across the state, including: Kingston, Newburgh, Poughkeepsie, Ellenville, the Hudson Valley, New York City, and beyond.

We fight hard to maximize compensation for injured drivers, passengers, and pedestrians in New York car accidents. We are proud to offer confidential, no-cost, no-obligation claim consultations to accident victims throughout the state.

If you choose to hire us after your consultation, we will not charge you a fee unless we get you money first.

If you cant come to us, we will come to you. Just contact us online or call 845-303-8777 to talk with an experienced Kingston personal injury lawyer today.

Reporting A Hit And Run Car Accident

Filing a Police Report After a Car Accident

If you are the victim of a hit and run accident, call the police immediately. If you were in the vehicle when the accident occurred, try to get :

  • The plate of the other vehicle
  • A description of the vehicle
  • A description of the driver
  • Location and the direction the vehicle fled
  • Any other information that can help identify the other vehicle/driver

Do not attempt to follow the vehicle. If your vehicle is driveable, visit the nearest police station.

Don’t Miss: What You Need To Become A Police Officer

More articles

Popular Articles