City Of Philadelphia Police Department
To obtain a copy of a crash report prepared by a city of Philadelphia law enforcement officer, submit a request form in person at the City of Philadelphia Records Department in City Hall, Room 170, Monday through Friday, 8 AM to 2 PM, or by mail to Records Department, Room 170, Philadelphia PA. 19107, ATTN: Accident Reports. You must pay a $25 fee for accident reports, and a separate $27 fee for any photographs taken at the accident scene .
Know How To Contact The Officer Who Filed Your Report
After the accident report is filed, make sure you get a card and/or direct contact information from the police officer who filed the report.
Often after an accident, you may only remember details after you’ve rested and calmed down. These details can be very important, especially if the car accident claim snowballs into a lawsuit.
If you find you have remembered some key details after the accident report is filed, contact the police officer and see if you can add these details to the accident report.
What Will The Police Do At The Scene Of A Car Accident
The police are there to help. They will be able to provide support to the parties involved in the crash, interview witnesses, and gather all necessary information about the accident. The cops will do some or all of the following:
- Take down basic information.
- Make sure the area is secure and safe for traffic and all people involved.
- Give tickets if this is required due to violations or negligence.
- Speak to witnesses, third parties, or any other people involved.
- Evaluate the situation to help avoid scams or other issues.
- Prepare a report you can later use to file your insurance claim or use in court if needed.
Don’t Miss: Do I Need A Police Report For An Accident
Obtaining The Police Report
You can obtain a copy of the report by contacting the police department responding to the accident. In Texas, the Texas Department of Transportation is the custodian of crash records for the state. A copy of the Texas Peace Officers Crash Report is available from TxDOT online. This system delivers a certified copy of the report immediately, at a cost of eight dollars. Copies may also be purchased by mail by completing and mailing a request form and payment. In some cases, a report may also be obtained by contacting the local police department.
Atlantic City Police Department
To obtain a crash report from the Atlantic City Police Department, purchase a copy online here or visit the Accident Investigation Unit at the Atlantic City Public Safety Building, 2715 Atlantic Avenue, Atlantic City, NJ between 7:30 a.m. and 3:30 p.m., Monday through Friday. Fees apply and you must show proper ID.
Don’t Miss: Can I File A Police Report Online For Identity Theft
Police Reports And Car Insurance Claims
A police report helps you in a number of ways:
- It helps facilitate the claims process with your auto insurance company.
- It can mean a quicker payout on your claim, as fault and accident details will be easier to determine with the report.
- Should your accident escalate into in a court case, your attorney will need a copy of the police report.
However, understand that even if you file a police report, you do not automatically have to file a claim with your car insurance company. If the amount of damage to your car is small and your car insurance deductible is high, you might want to pay the expenses yourself without involving your car insurance company. This may help you avoid accident-related rate hikes in the future.
Indiana Laws About Reporting Car Accidents
In some cases, its not just a best practice to file a car accident police report: Its the law.
In Indiana, you must report any motor vehicle collisions involving injury, death, or entrapment of another person to law enforcement. Additionally, you are also required to report accidents where damage to property occurs.
However, regardless of whether your crash falls under these circumstances, filing a police report is essential if you want to pursue legal action and get compensation for your damages.
Read Also: How Much Does Police Training Cost
Facts Versus Opinions In Police Reports
The information contained in the police report can be a fact or an opinion. For example, the date, time, and location of the collision are facts. Fault determinations are the opinions of the police officer.
Regardless of what’s included in the police report, the insurance company, through its own investigation, will come to its own conclusion as to who was at fault for the accident.
Write Down Information About Weather Road Conditions Along With Time And Place Of The Accident As Soon As Possible
You want to be able to provide as much information about the conditions surrounding your accident as possible. The sooner you do this, the more likely it is that you will remember more details. This helps your broker or insurance company, and the police, to understand the circumstances around the car crash.
Don’t Miss: How To Become A K9 Police Dog Trainer
Using A Police Report
Whether a police report is admissible in court in a car accident case can be a complicated question. The answer may depend on the rules of evidence in your state. A police report may fall within the definition of hearsay, which is not admissible. Hearsay generally consists of an out-of-court statement introduced to prove the truth of the statement. In some states, however, there is an exception for public records or business records when a statement otherwise would be hearsay. This may cover a police report or parts of it.
If your case proceeds in small claims court, you probably will be able to use the police report. Small claims courts apply a much more lenient standard for admissibility of evidence than do regular courts.
Access Accident Reports You Already Purchased Online
You will have 7 calendar days to access reports you already purchased online. After 7 days, you will need to purchase the reports again.
You will need
- your email address, and
- the Report Confirmation Number – do not enter the Search Confirmation Number
Note: Some customers have experienced from our website. Make sure your operating system and web browser are up to date.
Also Check: How To Become A Police Officer In San Diego
How Do I Get A Copy Of The Police Report In Houston
If the Houston Police Department responded to your crash, you can obtain a copy of your report online, in person, or by mail. It may take seven to 10 days before your report is available.You must know at least two of these details to get a copy of the report:
- The date of the accident
- Where the accident happened or
- The names of drivers or other people involved.
Will The Police Officer File A Colorado Accident Report
In Colorado, police officers usually file a crash report if there is property damage in excess of $1,000 or someone was injured or killed.
An accident report will be filed if one or more drivers involved did not have car insurance, but otherwise, the officer might not bother to make and file a report.
In this case, you should file a personal accident report with the Department of Revenue within 60 days of the crash to make sure there is an official record of what happened.
Read Also: What Do Police Drones Look Like
Obtain A Public Police Report Copy
After filing a public police report you are able to obtain a copy for yourself any time. Unless you received one from a dispatched officer on the scene, you most likely will have to pay a fee to obtain a copy.
Most police reports are public record so anyone who wants to see their own or someone elses report is able to do so. Reports that are under investigation though are usually restricted to the police department and investigating parties, however.
What Is Included In Police Reports For Car Accidents
The information included in a police report for a car accident can vary based on the details of the accident, who filed the report, and where the report was filed. For example, a car accident police report at the scene will be different from the police report filed at a reporting centre.
The following information is typically included in a police accident report form :
- Report Number : The police accident report reference number will be indicated.
- Date and Location : The report will have the date and location details of the accident.
- Accident Details : Photos of damage, location of damage, type of accident
- Driver Information : Drivers license, insurance, ownership, contact information of all drivers involved.
- Vehicle Information : Make and model of vehicles involved in the accident.
- Statements : Statements of what witnesses and passengers saw.
- Driver Statement : A statement of the events that led to the car accident from the drivers perspective.
- Other Information : Any other information that may be relevant to the accident, such as road and weather conditions.
You May Like: How Do I Become A Police Officer
What Does It Mean To Go To Trial
Going to trial is a tough endeavor. It is a high stress activity. Going to trial means the negotiation process has failed. This could occur because of multiple factors, including weak evidence to a refusal to negotiate in good faith by the other side.
Specifically, going to trial means that you are planning to present your case in front of a judge or jury, for a final decision. Instead of finishing your case through the negotiation process, you present the facts and witnesses of the case to a neutral arbitrator, either a judge or jury, to make a final determination on the facts.
What Happens If There Is No Police Report Can I Still File A Car Accident Claim
In certain circumstances, you might not have a police report for your car crash. For example, if the accident happened on private property or did not meet the requirement stated above, the responding offer may not file a report. Additionally, in severe weather emergencies, the police may be unable to respond to minor accidents.
However, while a police report may be useful in an insurance claim and/or personal injury lawsuit, it is not an absolute requirement for success.
Many other types of evidence may play a decisive role in your car accident injury claim. Examples of these kinds of evidence include:
- The damaged vehicles
- Statements from the drivers involved and eyewitnesses
- Skid marks and other physical evidence from the accident scene
- Information from the vehicles data recorder, if applicable
- Cell phone records that indicate a driver was texting or talking at the time
- Video from a nearby security camera that recorded the crash
- A professional reconstruction of the accident
- Testimony by experts in vehicle design or manufacture
Don’t Miss: How Much Training To Become A Police Officer
Requesting Your Loveland Accident Report
If your accident probably occurred within Loveland city limits, the responding officer will have filed your accident report with the departments records division.
You will need to submit your request to the records division. There are two main ways that you can go about requesting Loveland accident reports: in person or via mail, email, or fax.
Let Our Attorneys Do The Work For You
The Law Office of David E. Gordon is committed to helping Tennessee accident victims throughout the case investigation process. This includes helping you obtain the police report after a car accident and explaining all of your legal options. Let us worry about the paperwork and documentation so that you can focus on your recovery process.
If you or a loved one has been involved in a Tennessee car accident, contact David E. Gordon right away. He is a Board Certified Civil Trial Specialist with a perfect 10.0 AVVO rating and is recognized by the Super Lawyers Magazine. David is committed to helping injured people in Tennessee.
Our law firm will fight aggressively in pursuit of full and fair compensation for you. Contact David E. Gordon today at 818-4889 or online for a free consultation.
Don’t Miss: How To Make Police Report For Identity Theft
Let Tenge Law Firm Help Get You The Settlement You Deserve
To increase your chance for success with your Loveland car accident claim, call Tenge Law Firm for some of the most experienced and personalized representation that Loveland has to offer.
We are proud of our five-star ratings all around the web. Our previous clients rate us five out of five stars on websites like Lawyers.com, Yelp, Google Reviews, and even Avvo.
You can read about our success stories on our client reviews and case results pages. If you think we are a good fit for your individual legal needs, let us see what we can do to help you.
Contact us today for your free consultation!
Can I File A Car Accident Claim Without A Police Report
Yes, but the official accident report can be critical in proving fault and recovering compensation for your injuries.
After a car accident in North Carolina, the first things you should do are to get emergency medical care for anyone who needs it, and to call the police.
The police report often provides valuable evidence for any car insurance claim and/or lawsuit you may file. It contains important information about all parties involved in the accident as well as the officers findings at the scene.
However, you can still file a car accident lawsuit even if you do not get a police report.
The attorneys at Riddle & Brantley believe that Justice Counts. That is why we investigate all car accident cases beyond the police accident report in order to discover what really happened and who is truly at fault. The police report can be helpful to your case, but it is not essential.
For a FREE consultation with an experienced North Carolina car accident lawyer, please call 1-800-525-7111 or complete the convenient form below.
The consultation is free and there are no attorney fees unless we win your case. Call 1-800-525-7111 and lets review your claim.
You May Like: How To Make A Police Report Over The Phone
What Information Should You Collect
If the police tell you they cannot make it to the accident, ask them what you should do. Make sure you take down all the information using a car accident form or checklist. Also take down the name of the person you spoke to when reporting the accident, in case you need it later in court.
- Find witnesses, if possible.
- Record the damages, location, and the other party or witness versions of what happened.
- File your report with the police as soon as you can and give the police officer the details you collected.
You will need to file your own report and insurance claim if the police are not there to help. You can go to a nearby police station and report the accident. In some jurisdictions, you can file a police report for certain accidents online. The information collected from the car accident can be one of the most important tools in determining fault and who is financially responsible for the car accident.
Always be honest and detailed with the police officer because it will help you in the long run. Filing a detailed and accurate report means the insurance claim process will likely move more quickly.
How Long Do You Have To Report An Accident To The Police
The state requires law enforcement officers to file a written report within 24 hours of the accident. These reports are available from the North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles for a fee of $5. Search fora free copy of your accident report via the North Carolina Department of Public Safetys website.
Each report must include the following information but can also include more detail if the officer is so inclined:
- The cause of the crash.
- The conditions existing at the time of the crash.
- The people and the vehicles involved in the crash.
- Notation of any vehicles seized under statute 20-28.2
- Insurance information of any driver whom the law enforcement officer believes to have been at fault.
At theRhine Law Firm, P.C., we understand that being involved in a wreck is a stressful event. We are ready to assist you in understanding and complying with your legal responsibilities as well as seeking compensation for injuries that were caused by another driver.
Insurance companies are in business to make money, which can come into conflict with paying an injured victim the full compensation that he or she deserves. Our lawyers have several decades of experience defending the rights of injury victims and assisting them on their road to recovery.
Please call toschedule a consultation and learn how Rhine Law Firm, P.C. can help you after your vehicle crash.
Recommended Reading: Do I Need A Degree To Be A Police Officer
More About How To Get A Police Report After An Accident
When you are requesting a police report after an accident, in addition to paying a fee, you will need to provide details about the crash. Be prepared to provide information such as:
- Date and time of the accident
- Where it happened, including street or highway, and city
- Names of drivers involved
- The incident report number, if the responding officer gave it to you.
You will usually have to provide at least two of these items to get the report.