Filing A Dekalb County Police Report
Failure to notify the police when an accident occurs is a punishable misdemeanor offense. Georgia law requires all motorists involved in any accident no matter how small to notify the police. Drivers involved in an accident resulting in personal injury, death or property damage of $500 or more should call the police as soon as it is safe to do so by the quickest method available. The law also applies even if you are the victim of a hit and run accident and dont know who is responsible for the damage to your vehicle or property. If youre unsure whether you need to file a police report in DeKalb County, check with the DeKalb County Non-Emergency Line at 678-406-7929. Read More:Police Report Types
What Is Required To File An Online Report
When you want to file a police report in Georgia online, there are a few requirements that need to be met. These requirements may vary by the different law enforcement agencies in Georgia, and you need to know the requirements in the location where you plan to file your police report. However, some of the most common requirements include:
When Will The Accident Report Be Available
Most accidents reports wont be immediately available. You might not be able to get it until approximately 3-4 days after the incident. This lag time allows for administrative review and processing.
Sometimes, uploading the report to the agencys computer system will cause further delays. If the report isnt available when you request it, ask the reporting agency when they believe it will be available.
You May Like: How Hard Is It To Be A Police Officer
What Types Of Reports Can Be Filed Online
There are many types of crime, and not all of them can be reported online. Before you start the process of reporting a crime, you need to know if you can report it online or if you need to go into your local Georgia police station to report it. Here are a few types of crimes that you can file a police report in Georgia online for:
|Criminal Mischief||This crime occurs when a person intentionally damages property for no other reason than to cause damage. An example would be teenagers throwing rocks through windows.|
|Petit larceny||This is the theft of property worth less than $1,000 and stolen when you weren’t around. This can include a laptop stolen from a locker or a stolen piece of jewelry during a party in your home.|
|Graffiti||Anytime someone paints, etches, or scratches something into someone else’s property, it’s graffiti. The most common example is spray-painted pictures and words on the side of a building.|
|Lost Items||Technically, this isn’t a crime but if you lose your bookbag after you set it down on the subway and forget it, you can report it to the police who will return it to you if it’s found.|
What If My Report Is Inaccurate
If you notice a mistake on your accident report, its important to get it amended. The only people who can request an amended report are those who were there at the scene of the accident. Unfortunately, this is one of the few things a lawyer cannot do on your behalf. You can request a report be amended in person at the police station or by calling the reporting officer to give a statement. When pursuing a claim, its important that the report accurately affect the sequence of events and the people present. The insurance agencies will use the report to make decisions of liability so its worth your time to get one corrected.
You May Like: How To Check A Police Officer Record
Crash Reporting Gdot Crash Data Dashboard
The GDOT Crash Data Dashboard provides crash and vehicle data from accidents that have occurred on Georgias public roads. It also details campaigns in the state of Georgia, which can help you find any information about a specific campaign or by filtering it down to a county or region. The dashboard contains crashes over the last 5 years. View the GDOT Crash Data Dashboard.
Georgia Uniform Motor Vehicle Accident Report Dmvs
Georgia accident reports must be filed if a vehicle is involved in any type of accident and there was property damage, injuries, or deaths. A Georgia uniform motor vehicle accident report DMVS-523 is used for this purpose. The officer attending the scene must record all details related to the incident on that form. If no one attended your car crash, you should use DDS-190 Personal Report of Accident form to file an official report with law enforcement headquarters.
Recommended Reading: What Classes Are Required For Police Officers
Hard Copy Police Reports Available
Reports are typically available for pickup four business days after the report was taken. To get the status of a police report, please call 770.513.5000.
Incident and accident reports may be obtained at any of the 7 locations listed below. Reports are available Monday through Friday. Offices/Precincts are closed on county holidays. Please refer to the website calendar section for a complete list of holidays. Accident reports are $5, incident report costs average 10 cents per page and in certain instances may be free to victims . On average incident reports run 50 cents or less and cash payment is preferred if under $1.00. Please bring exact change as we are often unable to break bills larger than $10.
The Cause And Effect Of Car Accident Reports
Perhaps one of the most important boxes on the entire report is the one labeled contributing factors. This is where the officer will make a call about what caused the accident, for instance, if it was speeding, following too closely, mechanical or vehicle failure, driving too fast for conditions, drunken driving, etc.
Even in determining who is to blame for an accident, police officers dont always get it right. Still, the accident report will be considered carefully by the insurance companies involved.
Accident reports are complex documents made more confusing when there are mistakes or misleading information. Our lawyers can help you sort through the confusion and potentially help rectify any errors.
You May Like: How Much Do You Get Paid As A Police Officer
If This Is An Emergency Please Call 911
Crimes that can be filed online usually do not require an in-person police response.
If you can answer yes to all of the following, then you may file an online report using this system. Please make sure to turn off your pop-up blocking software before filing the report.
- This is not an Emergency.
- This incident occurred within the Savannah City limits.
- There are no known suspects or suspect vehicle descriptions .
- There is no physical evidence to collect or process.
- The incident is not regarding the theft or loss of ID and/or identification documents issued by foreign governments.
- The theft of a firearm is not involved.
- The theft or loss of a prescription medication is not involved.
Using the Savannah Police Department Police Online Citizens Reporting System you can report the incidents such as:
- Criminal Trespass
- Criminal Damage to Property in the Second Degree
- Lost or Mislaid Property
- Traffic Complaints
- Private Property Crash Reports
Please be sure to review the entire list with definitions and examples on the following page. Please click on Select Incident to begin. If your incident is not listed in the category selection list, please call the Savannah Police Department (Emergency 9-1-1 to file your report.
Upon completion of this report process you will:
Georgia Auto Accident Reports
A Georgia vehicle crash must be reported if it results in significant property damage and/or injury to any party involved. The other driver of the collision might choose not to report the accident and settle it informally with direct payment for any damages done, but this decision can have serious consequences down the line. Our Georgia motor vehicle accident attorneys advise that you contact law enforcement so an investigation can take place- which is especially helpful if you later discover you had injuries not immediately apparent at first sight.
When you contact law enforcement, the officers that respond to the scene will talk to those involved in the collision, as well as any witnesses, during their investigation of the accident. A police report is important because it highlights key pieces of evidence in addition to witness observations that may be used as grounds for further investigation or determining who is at fault. This official report from law enforcement gives insurance companies the information that they need during investigations- so its important that you contact the police immediately if you are involved in a wreck. If you have not already done so, we will obtain this report for you.
Read Also: How Much Is A Police Bulletproof Vest
How To Request An Accident Report Using The Georgia Open Records Act
The State of Georgia allows you to use the Georgia Open Records Act to obtain a traffic crash report. The Open Records Act is found at O.C.G.A. 50-18-72. To make an open records request for the traffic report, you may submit a request form to a local State Patrol Post or the Georgia Department of Public Safety, DPS Open Records Unit. In your request, you must include your name, address, telephone number, persons involved, type of record being requested, the Georgia city or county where the accident happened, the date of the accident, and the crash report or incident report number if you know what it is.
Traffic Accident And Incident Reports
You may access and purchase police reports online at Sandy Springs Police Reports. Ideally, you should have the case number to facilitate the search. If you do not have the case number, reports can also be searched by date and address.
Accident reports can be obtained by clicking on the following link or the image below. You will need to provide the Last Name, Report Number and Date of Accident.
The cost for a report is $5.00
Traffic Crashes- Self Reporting
If there are no injuries, you may complete a SR13 accident report form and report it to your insurance company. The form can be obatined by clicking here
Before you leave the scene, make sure you exchange information with the other driver. Information that should be exchanged include:
- Name, address, and contact information
- Driver LIcense Number
- License plate number of the vehicles involved
- Vehicle Insurance Information
You May Like: Where Is A Police Academy
How Can An Accident Report Affect My Claim
In the past, clients have expressed hesitation on involving the police department, especially in minor accidents. Consider it this way: police officers see hundreds of accidents every year. The amount of experience they bring to the scene of the accident can prove to be vital to a case. Its their responsibility to assess: the statements given by the drivers, road conditions, the damage to your vehicle, and the injuries you complain of following the accident.
Questions About Georgia Auto Accident Reports
If you have questions about obtaining Georgia Auto Accident Reports, correcting mistakes or omissions in the report, or pursuing an accident injury claim- dont hesitate to call our car crash lawyers. Well help you through any aspect of your case and represent your interests throughout all of Georgia, including rural areas in the state. No matter where you are located were just a phone call away!
Also Check: How To Find Out What Police Are Responding To
Georgia Accident Reports Cannot Be Used In Court
You may be concerned that if you file an accident report it could be used against you if you get a citation and the claim goes to court. However, the law is clear on this point. Accident reports filed with the Department of Transportation, any action taken by the Department of Driver Services, and the findings of the department upon which such action is based cannot be used as evidence of negligence in any action to recover damages.
Which Agency Is Responsible For The Accident Report
In the heat of the moment, you may not realize exactly which law enforcement agency has filed the report about your accident. Generally, you can expect either the police department of the municipality in which it occurred, the local county sheriffs police or the state highway patrol to have the information.
You can call each of these agencies to find out which one has the report:
Also Check: How Can You Be A Police Officer
Reporting A Car Accident To The Georgia Dmv
You will need to report the accident to the Georgia DMV regardless of whether you need to file a police report. A police report is required for auto accidents that result in injury, death, or property damage over $500. It doesnt matter whether the police prepared the appropriate form at the scene of the accident, or if you contact the police to report the motor vehicle crash once you have returned home, you still have to inform the Atlanta DMV separately of the accident.
The Atlanta DMV requires that you file an accident report after a car accident. Ensure that you provide only accurate information on the Georgia SR-13 form, and complete the form to the best of your ability. Please do not guess. Consult a lawyer before sending the Georgia DMV your completed form if you are unsure how to fill out any section.
Understanding The Georgia Accident Crash Incident Report
If you want to delve deeper into the reports content, you can look at the various codes. The accident report overlay lists the codes and what they mean. Pay particular attention to codes that indicate who or what factors may have caused the accident. Driver condition, vehicle condition, and vision obscured are just a few of these.
The narrative and diagram sections of the report will generally contain a summary of the police officers findings about the accident, including what the drivers and witnesses had to say about the crash.
Also Check: How To Get A Local Police Background Check
Obtaining A Police Report
To obtain a Fulton County police report to download a form and go to one of the following precinct locations:
Records and Reports Office:141 Pryor Street SW, Atlanta, GA, 30303Hours of operation:Monday through Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m.Telephone number: 404-613-57004701 Fulton Industrial Boulevard SW, Atlanta, GA 30336Hours of operation:Monday through Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m.Telephone number: 404-613-6600
If another police agency responded to your incident, please contact them directly to request a copy of your report.
What Information Will An Accident Report Include
There will be different accident reports based on where the accident happens and the severity of the event. If you want an insurance company to pay for any property damage and compensate you for injuries suffered during the traffic crash, the information in the report will be crucial.
In the majority of car crash reports, all defendants names, insurance information, and license numbers will be included. Statements from the drivers and witnesses as well as information about the road conditions and the scene of the accident will be included in the report. The contact information for witnesses should also be available just in case they need to provide a formal statement at a later date.
The report will contain details of all citations and arrests made. Reporting officers typically include sketches or photos of the scene to help establish how the accident occurred.
Also Check: How Do I Get A Copy Of A Police Report
Can You Get An Accident Report If You Didnt Call The Police
No. If the police did not respond at the time of the incident, they cannot and will not complete an accident report. This can complicate matters with the insurance company, which may try to blame you for the accident. But you can complete your own personal accident report, which may help. This is essentially a formal way to document everything that happened as you saw it, as soon after the accident as possible. Give the completed report to your lawyer and they may be able to draw on it when dealing with the insurance company.
For a free legal consultation, call
Georgia Criminal Background Checks
The Criminal background checks are a review of an individuals history to determine any criminal activity within the State of Georgia. Background checks are $15.00.
In order to obtain a criminal background check, you may appear in person at the Cobb County Police Department Central Records, or send a request form by mail. Please refer to the request form for more instructions. A valid form of identification is required.
Don’t Miss: Can An Ex Felon Become A Police Officer
How To File A Police Report With The Dekalb County Georgia Police
Atlanta, Georgia, has some of the countrys worst traffic and a rush hour that can last all day. Accidents can and do happen, and if a fender bender happens in one of the citys most popular neighborhoods including East Atlanta, Kirkwood, Briarcliff or Druid Hills, you must file a DeKalb County police report.
Consequences Of Failing To Make A Police Report
Depending on the facts surrounding the wreck, there could be legal consequences for not making a police report. The failure to have a report will likely have a negative effect on your ability to collect on your insurance claim or to prove who was at fault for the accident, an important element under Georgias contributory negligence law, which reduces the amount a person may collect for damages depending on their level of fault.
If you, a friend, or loved one were injured as a result of a car accident, contact Georgia Trial Attorneys for a free case evaluation.
Recommended Reading: How Many People Have Been Killed By Police In 2017