For Collisions On The Nys Thruway
Requests for copies of an MV-104A for collisions investigated by the New York State Police that occurred on the New York State Thruway and its subsidiary arterials must be made to New York State Thruway Authority.
The form required to request a copy of the report is available online at: www.thruway.ny.gov.
Uses Of A Car Accident Police Report In Los Angeles
You may be wondering if you need to request a car accident police report in Los Angeles. In general, the professionals recommend that you get a copy of your police report. A Traffic Collision Report can contain important information about:
- The driver at fault for the accident
- Injuries you sustained in the wreck
- The names of other involved drivers and witnesses
- Insurance information about other drivers
A car accident lawyer in Los Angeles can use the information contained in your Traffic Collision Report when building your claim. Police reports can serve as evidence in cases involving motor vehicle collisions. The Simmrin Law Group can use this information when working to bring you compensation for your medical expenses and other losses.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Reporting To Your Insurance Broker
Depending on the circumstances, you may wonder: do I really have to report the accident? As previously mentioned, you should always call your insurance broker first. As a licensed professional, your broker can review your coverage and discuss all of your possible options. If the total damage of the accident is less than $2,000, you are not required to report the accident or file an insurance claim. However, there may be reasons why this is a good idea, and your broker can guide you with your decision.
Your insurance broker can help you through the entire claim processThey can answer any questions you may have, review your coverage options, and even transfer you directly to an claims adjuster if you decide to file a claim.
In the event of an after-hours emergency situation, most insurance companies have a 24 hour emergency claim service. If needed, you can find your providers emergency claim number in our BrokerLink Insurance Centre.
Whenever there is any doubt about the correct way to report an accident, contact your broker for assistance.
You May Like: How To Obtain Police Report Number
What Will The Accident History Tell Me
The accident history section of the vehicle history report provides a comprehensive summary of any reported incidents or damage on a car. This can include damages from collisions or extreme weather conditions anything that can impact the integrity of the vehicle.
The report provides details of a vehicles accident and damage records so you have the right information in hand to make the best decisions possible whether youre a buyer or a seller.
Where data is available, the report will tell you the following:
- The number of incidents
- The dollar amount of the repairs
View an example of a report here.
Information To Include In Your Police Report
Make your police report as detailed and accurate as possible. Take notes and photos at the scene of the accident to gather information and help you remember. Include as much of the following information as you can:
- Description of what happened.
- Number of passengers in the other drivers car.
- Drivers name and insurance information.
- Names of witnesses.
- If possible, record their account of the accident using your cell phone.
Remember to take photos of the scene, your vehicle, and your injuries.
Recommended Reading: What Happens If A Police Car Hits You
How Do You Get A Police Report From A Car Accident
If youve ever been in an accident, the first thing you need to do is contact the police. Besides for directing traffic if you cannot move your vehicles, they also get statements from the drivers, passengers, and witnesses. The police report from the accident is one of the most critical documents in a car investigation and insurance lawsuit.
Therefore, we want to address how to get a police report and how the court uses this information in a court of law. If after reading this article you still have trouble getting the police report, then feel free to contact us.
Dont Miss: Will The Police Open My Locked Car
Let A Car Accident Attorney Review Your Police Report Today
Car accident injury attorneys spend a huge portion of their workdays understanding and evaluating the facts and circumstances of motor vehicle collisions. They know their way around a police report what it shows, what it doesnt, and what impact it might have on obtaining compensation for a client. After you have obtained the police report from your car accident, give it to an experienced motor vehicle accident injury attorney to learn about how it affects your rights.
Don’t Miss: Can Police Tell If Your Insurance Is Valid
A Police Report Is Usually Considered Inadmissible Hearsay
Wondering why you can’t use a police report in court in most situations? In personal injury law, a police report is considered “hearsay,” which is usually inadmissible evidence .
For example, Steve is called to testify in court. Steve states that Mary said that she saw Carl’s vehicle rear-end Robert’s at a stoplight. Steve’s statement is hearsay because he does not have direct knowledge of Carl’s car hitting Robert’s. However, it would not be hearsay if Steve stated that he saw Carl’s vehicle rear-end Robert’s. In the second version, Steve’s statement is made in-court, he has direct knowledge of the incident, and his statement is subject to cross-examination from the other party in the lawsuit.
So, why is a police report considered hearsay? Generally, it’s because the police officer did not personally observe the incident. Let’s alter the facts above. Suppose that Carl rear-ended Robert’s car. Mary was walking along the street and observed the car accident. Mary told the police officer that Carl was driving very fast when he rear-ended Robert’s car. The police officer makes notes from his conversation with Mary and places them in the police report. The police report is hearsay because it is an out of court statement containing the police officer’s opinion about a car accident that he didn’t actually observe.
Online With Records Request Navigator
You can still order a certified copy of an accident report online if you are unable to use the method above.
You must pay a
Use the Records Request Navigator, and provide the
- date of the crash/accident
- county where the crash/accident occurred
and at least one of the following
- the plate number of a vehicle involved in the crash/accident
- driver license number of a person who was involved in the crash/accident
- name and date of birth of a person who was involved in the crash/accident
If DMV cannot find an accident based on the information you provide, we will notify you by certified letter.
Don’t Miss: How To Find A Police Officer Online
How To Obtain A Car Accident Police Report In New York City Or Long Island
It is easy to obtain a car accident police report for accidents that happened in the City of New York or on Long Island. It has been our experience that the easiest way to get a report for accidents that happened in the City of New York is to visit any NYPD precinct. The easiest way to get a report for an accident that happened on Long Island is to visit the NYS Department of Motor Vehicles website.
What Is The Importance Of A Police Report
This formal document encompasses all the accident information, for instance, location, vehicle number, details, and possible information about the passengers and drivers.
It describes what happened and the possible causes of the accident.
The officer who wrote the report assigns a unique 6-digit number to this report, referred to as CCN .
And its better to keep this CCN close as it might come in handy in the future. Police play as a neutral party, so the police report is considered an authentic source of information about the accident.
Also Check: Can Police See If You Have No Insurance
Why Do I Need It
Having detailed, accurate, third-party information on the accident history of a car can help you:
- Protect yourself from fraudulent claims and potential liability
- Uncover events that the seller may not have disclosed or been aware of
- Negotiate a fair and accurate price
If there are no damage or accident records on the report, thats great! This could be the perfect car for you. Even if there is a history of damage or accidents, it could still be a reliable vehicle as long as it was repaired properly. And you might even get a better deal!
How Can You File A Car Accident Police Report With Donotpay
If you want to file a car accident report, it’s essential to seek legal advice. Sometimes, your information could serve as leading evidence in your case. For that reason, DoNotPay is ever ready to help you file an accurate car accident police report.
Whether you’re a victim or saw a car crash incident, DoNotPay can handle the task of filing a police report. If you want to file a car accident report with DoNotPay, follow these steps:
And that’s it. DoNotPay will file the car accident report to the police department where the incident occurred. Expect a notification from them within 24 hours to two weeks.
Also Check: How To Become A Certified Police Officer
Should You File A Report For Small Accidents
Even if there is only minor damage, it is still smart to file an accident report to record the details. The damage isn’t always clear at the time of the crash, and you might notice added injury or loss at a later time.
You don’t know what the other person in the car accident will decide to do or say after you have left the scene. Filing a report means the police can help make sure the details are correct.
Do I Have To Report An Accident In A Parking Lot
Back into a car in the parking lot? Did your car get hit while you were in the store? Parking lot accidents should be treated the same as an accident on a road. Use the same rules above to assess the situation and your need to file an accident report. Call your insurer to notify them of the accident.
Read Also: What’s The Cutoff Age To Be A Police Officer
What Is Accident Or Damage History
Often, its hard to tell from an ad or image if a used vehicle has been in an accident or damaged in some other way. But hidden damage is one of the biggest concerns when buying a used car.
The same goes for selling a used vehicle. The first thing a potential buyer will ask is whether the car was ever damaged and if so, what you did to fix it. Thats where a CARFAX Canada Vehicle History Report can help.
A Lawyer Can Help You Get A Car Accident Police Report In Los Angeles Ca
You may need a car accident police report after a motor vehicle accident in Los Angeles. The team at the Simmrin Law Group can help you review the best way to get a car accident police report in Los Angeles, CA. Call us at or fill out our online contact form to start getting help now.
We can help you seek damages after a car accident. Find out how with a FREE consultation from our car accident lawyers in Los Angeles.
Call or text or complete a Free Case Evaluation form
Also Check: How Do You Leave An Anonymous Tip To The Police
Reporting A Hit And Run Car Accident
If you are the victim of a hit and run accident, call the police immediately. If you were in the vehicle when the accident occurred, try to get :
- The plate of the other vehicle
- A description of the vehicle
- A description of the driver
- Location and the direction the vehicle fled
- Any other information that can help identify the other vehicle/driver
Do not attempt to follow the vehicle. If your vehicle is driveable, visit the nearest police station.
How Can We Help With Your Car Accident Settlement
If you have a police report from your accident and need help understanding what to do next, our Carlsbad car accident attorneys can help you. With close to $50 million in recovered settlement monies, we are experts at reviewing police reports.
Contact us today at for a free review of your car accident report today.
You May Like: How To Get Sponsored By A Police Department
Getting A Police Report After Your Car Crash
When a vehicle collision causes injuries or results in substantial property damage, a police officer will likely visit the scene, investigate the accident, and file a police report. Collisions can be scary and confusing, so its helpful to know when and how to obtain a police report before the accident occurs.
What To Consider When Filing A Police Report After A Car Accident
Filing a police report after a car accident is an important step. Documenting the details ensures that all parties are protected.
It’s good to contact the police any time you’re in a car accident. In some states, it is even required. Either way, you are better off letting the police decide whether they should come to the scene of the crash.
Once you’ve called the police, you will have done your part to protect yourself and follow the law. This will be helpful if someone files a lawsuit later.
Free Motor Vehicle Safety Recall Tool
If you really cant afford the detailed report,the government provides a recall database where you can enter any make, model, and year and they will tell if you there have been any recalls on that vehicle
Remember that if you cant get the vehicle history report, you should still get a professional inspection. They might be able to spot poor repairs or past damage from previous accidents. If accidents were never reported, then they wouldnt show up on the vehicle history report.
Optional: Get A Carfax Paid Vehicle History Report
Sometimes there might not be any other option to see a vehicles history. You might just have to buy a report directly, and CARFAX wears the crown.
Heres what to expect:
- Youll need the 17-digit vehicle identification number .
- The report shows previous ownership, accident history, and safety recalls.
- Youll find a lien search on the vehicle as well.
- A verified report costs $54.95 CAD.
No one wants to spend money on a car they dont even own, but having the information can save you a lot more money down the road. Better to spend that $55 on a report, spot a red flag, and avoid paying an extra $2,000 in repairs after buying a damaged vehicle.
Read Also: How To Go To Police Academy For Free
Submit Your Car Accident Report To Dmv
Most states require submitting an accident report to the DMV. Oregon residents, for example, must file these forms within 72 hours of the accident, provided there’s substantial damage and/or serious injury involved. California’s DMV requires something similar, but within 10 days for any accident resulting in death, injury , and/or property damage of $750 or more.
Inquire with your DMV if you’re unsure this requirement applies to you. Failing to comply could result in the loss of driving privileges. Or worse. In New Hampshire failing to submit a car accident report involving death or personal injury is considered a felony.
Car wrecks are traumatic enough. Don’t suffer additional penalties from ignorance of the law. Be certain. Call your DMV for its car accident policies.
Have you ever ordered a traffic accident report? Which agency provided it, and how much did you have to pay?
Not Sure How To Get A Police Report For A Car Accident In Your Area
Whether youre simply trying to obtain a police report, or youre considering going to court to get compensated for your losses, it helps to have an experienced advocate in your corner. Start the process today with a free legal evaluation of your car accident case.
Legal Disclaimer: This article contains general legal information but does not constitute professional legal advice for your particular situation and should not be interpreted as creating an attorney-client relationship. If you have legal questions, you should seek the advice of an attorney licensed in your jurisdiction.
Injured in a car accident?
Connect with an attorney in 60 seconds or less and get a free consultation.
Don’t Miss: How To Become A Police Officer In Florida
If The Police Do Not Come To The Scene
There may be times that a police officer can’t come to the scene of the accident. Here are a few reasons why that might happen:
- In some states, the police are not required to go to the scene of an accident if the property damage value is too low. If you are concerned about injuries or other issues, make the police aware when you call it in. Having more details can help them decide whether they will come.
- The police may decide not to come if there are no injuries.
- If there is a public emergency or disaster underway, they may be too busy to make it to the scene of your crash.
You should always make a call to the police and let them decide whether they’ll come out. If the police do not come to the scene, then make sure you record all the details of the accident and any damages yourself.