How To Access Your Police
Members of the public have the right to request records containing their personal information from the Ontario Provincial Police or a municipal police service. Individuals who make these requests may have, for example, played a role in a suspected offence, been involved in a call for service or some other police-attended incident or had a relative who died in circumstances that led to the involvement of a police service.
Someone else, such as a lawyer or other person acting on your behalf, may make the request for you, or you may do so yourself. You may file a request by submitting a form and paying a fee, either by mail or in person.
Commonly requested records include:
- officers notes and
- police-related 911 calls.
Many people think that they cannot request a police officers notes, but a police notebook is generally in the custody or control of the police service and is subject to freedom of information requests.
Requesting information from a police service follows the same process as asking for records from other types of government institutions. However, the nature of police-held information means that frequently some of these records or some passages within these records are exempt from disclosure under Ontarios access to information legislation.
In all cases, if you disagree with a police services decision to deny your access request in whole or part, you may file an appeal with our office.
This post is also available in: French
Submit Your Car Accident Report To Dmv
Most states require submitting an accident report to the DMV. Oregon residents, for example, must file these forms within 72 hours of the accident, provided there’s substantial damage and/or serious injury involved. California’s DMV requires something similar, but within 10 days for any accident resulting in death, injury , and/or property damage of $750 or more.
Inquire with your DMV if you’re unsure this requirement applies to you. Failing to comply could result in the loss of driving privileges. Or worse. In New Hampshire failing to submit a car accident report involving death or personal injury is considered a felony.
Car wrecks are traumatic enough. Don’t suffer additional penalties from ignorance of the law. Be certain. Call your DMV for its car accident policies.
Have you ever ordered a traffic accident report? Which agency provided it, and how much did you have to pay?
Bomb Threats By Telephone
If you receive a bomb threat over the telephone, Ready.gov provides the following information on what to do:
- Get as much information from the caller as possible. Try to ask the following questions:
- When is the bomb going to explode?
- Where is it right now?
- What does it look like?
- What kind of bomb is it?
- What will cause it to explode?
- Did you place the bomb?
The Department of Homeland Security also provides a helpful telephone bomb threat checklist.
Get more information on what to do if you receive a bomb threat or find a suspicious item.
You May Like: Do Police Check If Insurance Is Valid
How To Get A Police Report About Yourself
Most people see their first police report after they are involved in a motor vehicle accident. The investigating officer talks to witnesses and writes down information at the scene. Usually, the officer provides you with a receipt that contains the identification number of the report. That number makes it easy to order a copy of the police report from the local law enforcement agency that responded to the scene of the incident. You will likely have to pay an administrative fee for it. If you want it free, you can get a copy from your insurance company, assuming it obtains one.
If you were arrested and want the arrest report, request one from the main office of the police department that was involved in the arrest. Go to the agency’s website or the city or county website for information about how to get one. You may find that parts of the report are not available to you. Some material is considered confidential, which may include informant’s names, testimony, names of witnesses or undercover law enforcement officers. This is particularly true in criminal cases involving rape or sexual abuse.
You may not be able to obtain a report at all if the investigation is considered to be ongoing. But once it is completed, and charges are filed against you, your attorney can get the report from the district attorney’s office or from the prosecutor. Read More:Police Report Types
Hit And Run Police Report
Accidents involving a hit and run by one or more parties can result in serious penalties so it especially necessary to make a hit and run police report. Hit and runs are illegal and can result in license revocation and even criminal charges.
Filing a police report for a hit and run is imperative even if you do not have much information about the other party or their vehicle.
You May Like: Where Is The Police Academy
How Do I Submit A Request For Information
To submit a request send the request via mail, fax, or email to the agency. Some agencies list specific departments or people whose job it is to respond to PRA requests, so check their websites or call them for further info. Always keep a copy of your request so that you can show what you submitted and when.
Templates for Sample Requests
Incident Based Request: Use this template if you want records related to a particular incident, like the investigative record for a specific police shooting, an arrest where you believe an officer may have been found to have filed a false report, or to find out whether complaint that an officer committed sexual assault was sustained.
The First Amendment Coalition also has some useful information to help explain the PRA process.
How To Get A Copy Of A Police Report
A police report is generated by the investigating officer who responds to a request for assistance at the scene of a car accident. The police report is a summary of information regarding the crashusually containing facts related to the accident and opinions of the investigating officer.
There are two ways to obtain a police report. One way will cost you money, the other probably will not. To obtain a paid copy of the police report, you need to request a copy from the local law enforcement office that drafted the report. Before leaving the scene of the crash, the investigating officer typically will hand you a receipt with the identification number for the police report. Call the traffic division of the local law enforcement agency that responded to the scene of the car accident, pay the administrative fee , and you should have no problem obtaining a copy.
If you do not have or do not know the identification number for the police report, you can provide the date, time, and location of the car accident, along with your name, to assist in locating the report.
To obtain a free copy of the police report, you can ask the insurance adjuster who is handling your claim if they requested the report, and ask for a copy.
Regardless of how you obtain the police report, it may take a few weeks for the investigating officer to complete the report, and for it to become available.
Also Check: How To Get A Police Report Online
Who Can Request A Copy Of A Report
Copies of police reports may be requested by authorized parties of interest including:
- A victim or named witness of a crime
- Party or registered owner of a vehicle involved in a traffic collision
- Parent or guardian of a juvenile
- The insurance carrier against whom claim has been made or may be made
- Person who suffered bodily injury or property damage as a result of an incident
Step : Make Sure Your Occurrence Can Be Reported Online
Use the information below to see if you can use this system. If your occurrence qualifies for online reporting, proceed to the next step. If your occurrence does not qualify for online reporting, it cannot be accepted by the officer managing online reporting. These occurrences require contact with a local OPP officer for investigation. Please call the OPP toll-free at 1-888-310-1122 to file a report. Links to external websites including those with video, digital images or documents that are not supported by this application cannot be managed through this online reporting service. Please include a narrative description of the occurrence if you will be filing an online report.
You May Like: How To Find Police Report Number
How Can I Get A Police Clearance Letter For Immigration Purposes
The Los Angeles Police Department does not provide police clearance letters for the purposes of immigration to the United States or for employment background purposes. If the U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services asks for a clearance letter after you have been fingerprinted, please contact the Los Angeles County Sherriffs Office at 12440 East Imperial Highway, Norwalk, CA 90650 Phone No.: 345-4441.How do I find information for my academic research project?
The LAPD is unable to provide routine assistance with academic research matters due to the large number of requests the Department receives and the limited budget we have to process these requests.
At the discretion of the Chief of Police, the Department does occasionally participate in research projects which are of direct benefit to the City and the people of Los Angeles. If you believe that your request falls under this category, we encourage you to forward your inquiry in writing for further evaluation and review.
You may send your written request to:
Los Angeles Police DepartmentOffice of the Chief of Police100 West 1st Street
Can I Look Up A Police Report Online
You can obtain some police incident reports online. But, according to the U.C. Berkeley Advanced Media Institute, very few criminal records are available on the internet. Your best bet is to call or visit the law enforcement agency that made the police report you want to look up. Have the identification number or the relevant time, place, date and names. Ask the agency whether the records are public and what is the fastest way of getting them.
An option for involved parties to obtain motor vehicle accident police reports is to use a service like eCrash, provided by the Lexis/Nexis website. It is an online accident report management system that makes it easy for law enforcement agencies to distribute accident reports. This is available online within 24 hours of the completion of the report.
Recommended Reading: How Long Is The Police Academy In Arizona
To Access State Or Territory Government Information
To access information that a state or territory government agency holds, contact the agency you think holds the information. We dont hold the records of other agencies.
For more information, contact the agency that regulates freedom of information law in the relevant state or territory.
If the agency is in
Complaints About Police Officers
If you have experienced police misconduct:
- Contact the law enforcement agency involved.
- Submit your complaint in writing to the chief of police or the head of the law enforcement agency involved.
- Send a copy of your complaint to the Internal Affairs Division of the law enforcement agency. Be sure to keep a copy for yourself.
If the problem remains unresolved, learn how to file a complaint with the U.S. Department of Justice’s Civil Rights Division.
Finally, as with any potential legal dispute, you may want to contact a licensed attorney.
Also Check: How To Become A Police Officer In Pa
Work With Your Claims Adjuster
Once your claim has been submitted, you will receive a call from one of your insurance companys Claims Adjusters. Your adjuster will review your policy with you so understand what you are covered for and which items your insurance company will compensate you for. Your claims adjuster can answer any questions you might have about the process.
If at any time you have questions that you want to get answered, reach out to your insurance broker or agent.
Being in a car accident is extremely stressful. Following these steps will not only help to ease your stress but also help to make sure that everyone is properly taken care of in the event of a collision.
What The Law Says About Contacting The Police
Depending on the state you are in, you are required by law to contact the police and make a report after a wreck. In Texas, you must call the police if property damage is over $1,000 or if there are serious injuries or death. In cases like these, you could face large fines and even jail time if you do not call. Insurance policies can also make requirements about contacting the authorities within a certain timeframe.
You May Like: How To Become A Columbus Police Officer
Are You The Victim Of Mischief Theft Vandalism Or Graffiti
You can complete a police report online without having to go to the local station. If the offence did not take place in the Montréal Island area, you will have to contact the local police department where it occurred.
If there was a suspect or witness, or if the incident had a hateful connotation,
If you have been a victim of a telemarketing fraud or pyramid sales scheme, you should contact the RCMP.
To report a hate incident, .
Since November 29th, 2018, hit and run reports that do not contain investigative elements cannot be submitted using the SPVM online report. From now on, citizens have to contact directly their insurance company.
5 types of reports may be done online.
|See pictures specifications|
After submitting the report, a temporary number will be automatically sent to you by email. All communication will be done by email. Your report will be reviewed and if any changes are required, you will be sent a request for changes. Once the report is corrected and approved, you will receive an official event number by email, as well as a PDF copy of the report.
Make sure you have a valid email address as well as the date and location of the crime and information on the vehicle involved, if applicable.
If you meet these criteria and the type of incident that occurred appears on the list above, you may file your report.
Avoid using special caracters when writting your report, such as /*+< > . Those may cause an error when subitting your file.
Can The Agency Ask Me To Pay For The Time It Takes Them To Locate Files Or Redact Audio Or Video
No. The Public Records Act allows agencies only the charge for the “direct costs of duplication, or a statutory fee if appliable.”9 That means that agencies can charge for the costs of paper and ink, or for the disks or drives on which they provide data, but cannot charge for the time their staff spend finding records, making copies or even redacting documents. Despite this, for several years, police agencies still tried to charge requestors an hourly rate, often amounting to thousands of dollars, for the time their staff spent editing body camera video to redact confidential information, arguing that editing video was more like programming a computer to extract data than it was like redacting a document.
However, on May 28, 2020, the California Supreme Court in National Lawyers Guild v. City of Hayward rejected this argument10 and held that the Public Records Act does not allow police departments to charge requestors of police body camera footage for the staff time required to locate that footage and edit it to redact audio & video to remove private information.
If an agency has tried to charge you for the time required to make redactions in audio or video, please see our model follow-up lettera> notifying them of the Hayward decision and informing them such charges are unlawful.
Recommended Reading: How To Find Police Records Online For Free
What’s In A Police Report
At the scene of the car accident, if you pay close attention you may notice the investigating officer inspecting vehicles, talking to people, measuring distances, writing notes, and taking photographs. The officer is taking some or all of these steps in preparation for drafting the police report. In short, the police report is a summary of the police officer’s investigation of the accident. The report will often contain some or all of the following information:
- approximate date, time, and location of the collision
- identifying information for parties involved in the car accident, including names, addresses, phone numbers, and insurance information
- identifying information for witnesses
- statements from the parties and witnesses
- citations and/or violations of law, and
- opinions as to cause of the collision and/or a fault determination.
Making A False Police Report
Someone who files a police report that contains information that isn’t true hasn’t necessarily filed a false police report. She may identify the hit-and-run car as blue when it was black, or say the driver was a young woman when in fact it was a mature woman. Everybody makes errors in eye-witness testimony, and nobody can or should fault them for it.
Making a false police report is a different thing altogether. It involves intentionally feeding the police incorrect information, usually for one of two purposes: to shield themselves from police scrutiny for a crime they committed, or to implicate an innocent person for a crime as personal revenge. The types of false information given may include:
- Reporting a crime that did not occur
- Using a false name
- Read More:Penalty for Filing a False Police Report
Also Check: How Can I Check My Police Report Online