Document The Accident At The Scene
Take photos of the note left by the other driver, if there was one. Photograph any damage to your car and the overall scene, including a view of the roadway, the position of your vehicle, and any wreckage or skid marks.
If possible, get information from witnesses, including names, contact details, and a brief statement. Note the date, time, location, weather conditions, and any other relevant details, too.
Insurance Claim: Make Police Report If Necessary To Facilitate Claim Process
Its important to report an accident with your insurance company as soon as possible following the incident.
However, it is best to refer to your insurer for advice when in doubt.
Bjak is one of Malaysias largest car insurance comparison platforms that offers 15 insurance brands. Get free car insurance quotes online at Bjak.my and renew your car insurance online in just 5 minutes.
Can You File Insurance Claim Without A Police Report
Is the police report necessary as part of the process to file an insurance claim? Read this article to know more.
Written by: Nurul
Most insurance claims do not need a police report, especially if theres only minor damage. Minor dust-ups may not warrant having a police officer respond to the scene. For example:
- Nobody gets hurt
- Those involved have a valid license and insurance
- All parties are cooperative
However, if the accidents include a collision with another car or involve casualties, it is best to file a police report for your safety against any unexpected third-party claims.
Don’t Miss: How Do I Know If Police Report Was Filed
Filing A Civilian Accident Report
You may have to file a Report of a Motor Vehicle Accident after your accident.
New York State Vehicle and Traffic Law requires that you submit an accident report for any collision resulting in property damage of $1,000.00 or more and if anyone was physically injured You have 10 days from the date of the accident to file the report.
Other reporting requirements dictated by New York traffic laws include:
- When only property damage results from an accident, drivers must exchange their drivers license, registration, and insurance information.
- When you collide with a parked car, damage other property, or hurt a domestic animal, you are required to either contact the police or find the owner and notify him or her of the incident.
Also referred to as a Civilian Accident Report , you can find and . Use the information you recorded about the collision, along with details from the State Troopers Exchange of Information form to complete your Civilian Accident Report. If you were injured in the accident and retain our firm to pursue a claim for the damages you suffered, we can assist you with the completion of this report.
Failure to file this report could prompt the DMV to suspend your drivers license.
How long do you have to file a police report after a car accident? This reasonable period may be interpreted to mean just a couple days, meaning you need to act fast after an accident.
Hitting A Stationary Object
If you crash into a stationary object while driving and the collision was your fault, you wont always need a police report. However, if theres a chance you were not at-fault for the crash, it can help to contact the police.
The police report will include information about the collision damage, any injuries you suffered, and other details surrounding the incident. These details can help support your claim and speed up the process.
You May Like: Where Do I Find Police Reports
Contact A Texas Car Accident Attorney Right Away
If you or your loved one are involved in a car crash, you need to call a Texas car accident attorney right away. Your lawyer can handle the insurance claim for you. If its denied, which may happen, they can also handle the appeal.
If the insurance company refuses to pay your claim, youll have no choice but to file a lawsuit. Your car accident attorney can do this for you. This way, you can focus on getting better while your lawyer handles the legal side of things.
The consultation is free and you pay nothing until you win your case.
Notifying Your Insurance Company Of An Accident
If there are no mitigating circumstances, the most typical course of action for most in a vehicle collision is to not submit police report. While making a police complaint helps determining who is at blame easier, it is not required to ascertain who is accountable for the damages.
At its foundation, a police report is just another piece of evidence that insurance companies may use to prove liability. Because the police officer was most likely not there at the collision, their report may be taken seriously because it will include any physical evidence at the site.
Even if there is no police record, insurance claim adjusters will evaluate the facts to determine where the carelessness happened. As a consequence, if you were at fault in a vehicle accident, dont expect a missing police report to rescue your case.
If youve been in a parking lot accident with no police report and no possible witnesses, an insurance companys obligation is normally to assess skid tracks and car locations to reconstruct the scene of the accident.
When everything is said and done, an insurance claim that does not include police report proof will be treated the same as one that does. The main difference is that the insurance companies will have to agree without the added assistance of an officers assessment on what caused the accident.
Minor crashes are commonly avoided by those who wish to avoid reporting them to their insurance providers for two reasons:
Read Also: Do You Have To Go To Police Academy
When To Involve The Police In An Insurance Claim
Do you need a police report when making an insurance claim?
In most cases, you dont need a police report in order to make a claim with your insurance company.
However, a police report can speed up the claims process to get you paid faster. It can also be used to prove certain damage or fault, ensuring you get paid the appropriate amount.
A police report is also a necessary piece of evidence in the case that there is a lawsuit with another party.
Why and when should you involve the police in an auto accident? How would this impact your insurance?
Another Driver Flees The Scene
If youre unlucky, the other driver may flee the scene of your accident. This can sometimes happen if they are impaired or may not have adequate insurance. In this case, youll need a police report to back up your story before you send a claim to your insurance company. After all, you wont have the other drivers details on hand.
Also Check: How To Find Police Records
Your Atlanta Car Accident Lawyer Wont Need A Police Report To File Your Insurance Claim
Although you do need to report most car accidents to the police, you dont necessarily need a police report to file your insurance claim. Most insurance companies only require the police report if youre claiming certain types of damages.
The problem is that you may need to demand special damages if you file an insurance claim. For example, lets say that at the time of the accident, youre towing your boat. Youre obeying every traffic law. You are in no way responsible for your accident.
A drunk driver comes along and smashes into your car. This causes you to crash your car. Your boat also gets shot across the highway, getting demolished in the process. Youre going to want to be compensated for the damage to your boat.
Without a police report, you wont be able to prove liability. This is why its a good idea to always call the police in case of a car accident.
An Accident With Another Driver
If you get into an accident with another driver, its always best to report the accident and get a copy of the police accident report. Even if the accident doesnt seem dangerous and you dont think police should be involved, you cant know for sure how injuries or vehicle damage might worsen.
To be safe, get a police report after an accident with another motorist. The report will help protect your rights, especially if you end up needing to file a lawsuit.
You May Like: What To Do To Become A Police
Do I Need To File A Police Report In Nevada
Each state has different rules for if and when someone must report a car accident to the police. In Nevada, notifying the police is only mandatory if someone suffered an injury. You do not need to call 911 if your car accident caused only property damage. You will, however, need to file a report with the Department of Motor Vehicles within 10 days if the crash caused more than $750 in property damages, as well as injuries or deaths.
You may still file an insurance claim without a police report if the nature of the accident did not require police reporting. An insurance company will not ask to see a police report if the crash did not cause personal injuries and no one called the police. Simply tell the insurance claims adjuster that state law did not require you to call 911 or report your accident to the DMV. Even if you should have reported your crash to the police, an insurance company may still offer you compensation for your damages. It may be more difficult, however, to prove your case.
Its All About You We Want To Help You Make The Right Coverage Choices
Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships dont influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.
- If youre involved in a car accident with minor damage and no injuries, you dont need to file a police report
- You should file a police report when theres major damage or injuries
- You should also file a police report if the other driver flees the scene
It can be troubling to be involved in a car accident, no matter how big or small. If youre in this situation, you need to know what to do next, and if your vehicle has sustained some damage, how to get it repaired and back on the road.
The answers to these questions are all found below, with special attention to why you will or wont need to fill out a police report.
Start the search for the best auto insurance quotes by entering your ZIP code.
Don’t Miss: What Do Military Police Do
Contact A Car Accident Attorney Today
The car accident attorneys at Wilson Kehoe Winingham are here to represent you for a car accident claim. If you or a loved one has been involved in a car accident with no police report, contact us today to see the steps you can take. We are here to help every step of the way. Call us at 317.886.1924 or fill out a free case evaluation today.
Collecting Evidence To Back Up Your Claim
Of course, theres every chance that the other driver in the accident is actually an honest person, and will completely accept blame. However, that likely wont be the case. So it will be on you to provide the proof you need to show that the wreck wasnt your fault. Taking photos and videos of the accident will help prove your case, as will getting on-the-record statements of any witnesses who might have seen what happened. But the police report will be an invaluable tool, one that could potentially sway the case to your favor.
Don’t Miss: How Can Police Help Domestic Violence Victims
How Long Do I Have To File A Claim
Youll want to get the claims process rolling as soon as possible, so filing a claim should be done promptly. Usually, the state statute of limitations is only two to three years, but some insurance companies may only pay the costs of repairs for the year in which the accident occurred. Putting it off isnt in your best interest since the longer you wait, the harder it may be to track down other people involved in the accident for interviews or other research related to the claim thatll help your case.
Our advice? File the claim right away or at least contact your insurance agent as soon as you can after the accident.
Car Accident Claims Tip: Report The Accident And Request A Copy Of The Police Report
While the police report is important, it is not necessarily conclusive. The report is part of the overall investigation. The details included within the report help to set the table for what happens next. For this reason, it is essential that you make your voice heard when the police come. When possible, your story should be in the police report. The report will be reviewed closely by insurance adjustersso it is crucial that you ensure that the officer is writing down the accurate version of events. The report will also include basic information about the crash, including:
- The time and date
- The names of the drivers involved
- Vehicle information of the cars involved
- Names of eyewitnesses
You May Like: How To Obtain An Old Police Report
Why Is It Important To Call The Police After An Accident
If you dont report your car accident, you risk your insurance company denying coverage, and you risk not being able to file a claim for damages against another at-fault party without a police report. You have to report your car accident to both your insurance company and the police if you want to protect your rights to recover compensation.
Car Accidents Without Police Report
If there is no police report, proving that the accident occurred, that the other party was at fault, and that you suffered property damage or/and injuries by collecting evidence from other sources becomes even more important. At the offices of GJEL Accident Attorneys, we have the resources necessary to open an investigation into your case that gathers the necessary evidence. We may talk to witnesses, collect video or photograph evidence, track down the other party, and work with accident reconstruction experts to build your claim, even if a police report does not exist.
And, a corollary to that question is: what if I didnt have an opportunity to give my statement because I was unconscious or Id already been taken away in the ambulance at the time the police came? We deal with these issues very frequently. If there is no police report or you were unable to give your statement then as mentioned above what we do is we have our own investigator recreate what the police would have done. The investigator goes to the scene, takes photos, inspects your car assuming its a car accident inspects the other car, contacts all the witnessesand as a general rule, we pretty much get what we want.
Also Check: How To Get A Police Report Expunged
What’s Considered A Minor Car Accident
Most states don’t require a police report for a minor accident. But keep in mind that what’s considered to be a minor accident varies by state. For instance, Alabama may consider a minor incident to have $250 worth of damage, whereas Oregon may consider $2,500 to be minor.
In many jurisdictions, police won’t issue a report for accidents that occur on private property, such as if you run into your own garage door. Note that many parking lots such as the neighborhood grocery store or local mall are also considered private property, so police may not respond to a minor vehicle incident in these locations unless they have a compelling reason.
Keep in mind, there’s no way to accurately assess a vehicle’s damage at the scene of an accident. There may be instances where the damage appears to be minimal, but a more thorough inspection reveals more issues. When in doubt, it makes sense to get a police report.
Is A Police Report Legally Required
In California, drivers who are involved in an accident resulting in injury or death are legally required to file a police report within 24 hours of the accident.
Accidents that involve injuries, death or property damage of more than $1,000 must also be reported to the Department of Motor Vehicles within 10 days.
Police reports generally are also reported to the DMV, so if you have filed a police report, you may not have to file a second report with the DMV. However, double-check that the officer handling your accident case did his or her due diligence and reported the crash accordingly.
Don’t Miss: Do I Have A Police Record
Reach Out To A Hit And Run Lawyer Today
In Florida, you are legally required to file a police report only under specific circumstances. If a car accident appeared to be minor, or if you were removed by medical personnel before you could complete a police report, an attorney can help you understand your legal rights and options.
If you or a family member was involved in a car accident but failed to file a police report, contact a lawyer today. When you are ready to hold the liable party or parties responsible and file a car accident claim, with or without a police report, contact an Orlando car accident lawyer from the Law Offices of Anidjar & Levine. You may have a limited time to act under the statute of limitations imposed by Florida law.
We want to put our knowledge, experience, and resources to work for you.