What Does A Police Report Do
A police report can be used for evidence or leverage in pursuing an insurance settlement following a car accident.
It can be used as a resource to negotiate with insurance companies, further investigate the accident, and build a strong case. In court, a police statement cannot be used as evidence , yet can provide evidence of certain facts such as witness contacts, and provide information about the case. Because police reports are considered hearsay, its of interest to work with an experienced attorney when filing a lawsuit.
What If A Police Report For Your Accident Does Not Exist
The police do not always respond to an accident scene. In this case, you may self-report your accident. The FLHSMV provides details for reporting an accident online or by mail. You may have to wait once you have reported your accident. After a period, your lawyer will explain how to obtain a copy of the report for your car accident.
Reporting protocols are not always clear. Having a lawyer obtain your report could be the easiest option.
How To Get A Copy Of A Police Report
As we touched on above, a police report is generated by the investigating officer who responds to a request for assistance at the scene of a car accident. The police report is a summary of information regarding the crashusually containing facts related to the accident and opinions of the investigating officer.
There are two ways to obtain a police report. One way will cost you money, the other probably will not. To obtain a paid copy of the police report, you need to request a copy from the local law enforcement office that drafted the report. Before leaving the scene of the crash, the investigating officer typically will hand you a receipt with the identification number for the police report. Call the traffic division of the local law enforcement agency that responded to the scene of the car accident, pay the administrative fee , and you should have no problem obtaining a copy.
If you do not have or do not know the identification number for the police report, you can provide the date, time, and location of the car accident, along with your name, to assist in locating the report.
To obtain a free copy of the police report, you can ask the insurance adjuster who is handling your claim if they requested the report, and ask for a copy.
Regardless of how you obtain the police report, it may take a few weeks for the investigating officer to complete the report, and for it to become available.
Don’t Miss: How To View Police Records Online
How To Report A Car Accident In Nyc
If you were involved in a car accident, then you need to report the accident to the police in order to get an accident report made. Under New York law, there is no need to report an accident that involved property damage only if the damage was less than $1,000. If the accident involved higher values of property damage or involved any physical injuries, you are legally required to report the accident.
The New York DMV has a form on its website for filing an accident report, but in many cases, a police officer will file this report after being called to the scene. If a police offer does start this form, you can get information from them about how to retrieve a copy later. It is a legal requirement that this form is submitted for every qualifying accident within 10 days of the crash, so if you did not report the crash or police did not respond to the accident scene, make sure to file this form. Talk to an Islip car accident lawyer if you have any concerns or questions about how to fill out the form or whether it is required in your case.
Police Reports: A Quick Overview
Pennsylvania and New Jersey laws require citizens to notify law enforcement immediately of any traffic accident involving a fatality or personal injury. The laws of both states also require any law enforcement officer who investigates the scene of a fatal/injury accident to prepare and submit a written report of the investigation to the police department and other relevant authorities. The laws place short time limits on the preparation of preliminary reports . Officers can submit supplemental reports if necessary.
- The county and municipality where the crash occurred
- The time of day the crash occurred
- The number of vehicles/pedestrians involved in the accident
- The number of people involved in the crash
- The number of people injured or killed in the crash
- The presence of damage to the road or roadway features
- Whether the reported crash was a primary or secondary incident
- The roadway location of the crash
- Details about the roadway where the crash happened
- Details about the surroundings of the crash
- Details about the people involved in the crash
- The results of alcohol/drug tests of drivers
- A narrative description of how the crash happened, including its first harmful event, most harmful event, and prime contributing factors and
- A diagram of the accident.
Also Check: How To Sue A Police Officer For Excessive Force
How To Request Records Contained In A Major Collision File
Major Collision Bureau investigates all Motor Vehicle Collisions resulting in a fatality or serious personal injury that occur in the Region of Peel.
If you are NOTthe Involved Party to the Collision
You must provide proof of relationship to the involved party and a signed consent on behalf of the involved individual.
If the Involved Individual is Deceased
You are required to provide an authorization from the legal representative or power of attorney with supporting documents.
***Do Not Send Payment Until You Have Been Invoiced***
Please contact Martine Renwick, Information and Privacy Unit at or email at for additional assistance.
How To Get A Police Report For A Car Accident
Getting a police report after a crash is fairly easy. You may have to wait a few weeks for the report to be completed. You also may need to pay an administrative fee for a copy of the report.
As you determine how to get a police report for a car accident in your area, there are usually five ways to obtain one from your local police station:
- In person: Stop by your police department to pick up the police report and pay any fees.
- Mail: Write to the local department, noting the crash receipt number, and request that a mailed copy of the police report be sent to you.
- Online: Many police departments have an online request option for quicker handling of your request and for online payment of your fee. Here’s an example of the car accident report portal for Los Angeles.
- Through your insurance adjuster: Ask your adjuster if they requested a copy of your police report as they can usually provide you with a free copy.
- Through your attorney: if you’re having difficulty obtaining the report, or prefer for a professional to handle this request, ask your attorney to obtain it.
Why You Need A Police Report After An Accident
Police reports help document what happened during an accident, and one of their main benefits is that they are objective. That helps the insurance company or any other legal entities understand exactly what happened, in an unbiased way.
If information is needed as evidence, it holds more weight than what might be considered “hearsay” between your story and the other driver’s story.
The police report is important not just in regard to making an insurance claim, but also as evidence in a potential civil or criminal court action.
Access Accident Reports You Already Purchased Online
You will have 7 calendar days to access reports you already purchased online. After 7 days, you will need to purchase the reports again.
You will need
- your email address, and
- the Report Confirmation Number – do not enter the Search Confirmation Number
Note: Some customers have experienced from our website. Make sure your operating system and web browser are up to date.
Don’t Miss: Do Police Monitor Social Media
Immediately Following An Accident
Before you make a police report, there are a few actions you should take:
- Proceed to safety: move to a safe location in the proximity of the accident site
- Check for injuries: if anyone has a severe injury, seek medical attention immediately
- Dont admit fault
- Gather information: collect relevant information from those involved and eyewitnesses
Whats Included In The Report
In Texas, a police report for a car accident is required if the crash results in an injury, a persons death, or damage to an individuals property worth $1,000 or more. These reports, or Form CR-3, include a detailed review of the accident with information such as the time, date, location, parties involved, the vehicles they were driving, and the type of road where the accident happened. Other details may also be noted, such as if one or both drivers were under the influence or paramedics were called to the scene.
Read Also: How To Report Cyber Crime To Police
Accidents With Less Than $2000 Damage But Still Are Required To Be Reported
There are certain instances where you are still need to report an accident, even if there is less than $2,000 damage :
- A crime was committed impaired driving, stolen vehicle, etc.
- There is an injury
- A vehicle is transporting dangerous goods
- The accident involves a government vehicle
- The driver is uninsured or doesnt have a license
- There is damage to private property
- The accident involved a pedestrian or cyclist
Hard Copy Police Reports Available
Reports are typically available for pickup four business days after the report was taken. To get the status of a police report, please call 770.513.5000.
Incident and accident reports may be obtained at any of the 7 locations listed below. Reports are available Monday through Friday. Offices/Precincts are closed on county holidays. Please refer to the website calendar section for a complete list of holidays. Accident reports are $5, incident report costs average 10 cents per page and in certain instances may be free to victims . On average incident reports run 50 cents or less and cash payment is preferred if under $1.00. Please bring exact change as we are often unable to break bills larger than $10.
You May Like: What Happens If Police Stop You Without Insurance
How To Get A Police Report
By law, certain police records and violation reports prepared and maintained by the Police Department are accessible to the general public.
If you need to get a copy of a police report, do this. First, begin by researching the requirements of the police department responsible for the jurisdiction in which the incident occurred. Then, follow the departments exact protocol for requesting and receiving those records. Start by checking the police departments website. Expand your search to the city website if you dont find anything on the police departments website.
Obtain and Fill Out Request Forms
Some departments may require that you complete a request form, sometimes called a request for public records. This may also be known as a request for open records. When you check the department website, look to see if you can download the request form from their site. If so, fill out the request form and submit it according to the directions.
Most request forms will require you to provide the first and last name of at least one of the involved parties. In addition, youll need the location, date, and time of the incident, and in some cases, the incident or case number.
Submitting the Request Form
Important Notes Regarding Submitting Requests for Police Reports
- It may take a few days or more to obtain the official documents
- Charges for obtaining copies of the documents may vary by city or jurisdiction
- Very few departments allow access to records online
How To Get A Report When You Dont Know Which Police Department Responded To Your Wreck
After a car accident, it is not unusual to not know or remember which law enforcement agency worked the accident.
In Georgia, it will likely be one of three law enforcement agencies: the local police department , the local sheriffs department, or the Georgia State Patrol . If you can call these agencies and provide your name, vehicle identification number , and the date, time, and location of the collision, one of these agencies should have the report.
Don’t Miss: How Do Police Dogs Get Trained
How Do I Get A Police Report For A Car Accident In Massachusetts
Getting a police report after a car accident can be helpful for many reasons. First, your insurance company or lawyer might ask for a copy, so having one at the ready will be important. Second, these reports contain vital information about your accident. But how do you get a copy?
In Massachusetts, you can usually get a police report directly from the police department that responded to your accident or from the State Police. This can be done in person in many towns and cities, but you can also submit request forms online. Third-party websites might also host reports for some jurisdictions, but be careful with unofficial reports.
For help after a car accident, call Law Office of John J. Sheehan today at 925-6407. Our Boston car accident injury attorneys offer free case evaluations and can help you understand the information in your police report.
City Of Philadelphia Police Department
To obtain a copy of a crash report prepared by a city of Philadelphia law enforcement officer, submit a request form in person at the City of Philadelphia Records Department in City Hall, Room 170, Monday through Friday, 8 AM to 2 PM, or by mail to Records Department, Room 170, Philadelphia PA. 19107, ATTN: Accident Reports. You must pay a $25 fee for accident reports, and a separate $27 fee for any photographs taken at the accident scene .
Don’t Miss: Where To Buy Digital Police Scanners
Alberta Car Accident Stats
Alberta traffic collisions are common. There are about 385 collisions in the province each day. These are just the reported collisions. In 2015 alone, there were :
- 140,705 collisions
Where and how do car accidents in Alberta happen?
- 84.1% occur in urban areas 15.9% in rural areas
- 26.4% are intersection related
- 3.4% of accidents involve a driver who has been drinking 0.3% impaired by drugs
- 25.7% of drivers in fatal collisions were reported as travelling at an unsafe speed
- Saturday recorded the most fatal collisions at 53 and Friday recorded the most injury collisions at 2,288
Facts Versus Opinions In Police Reports
The information contained in the police report can be a fact or an opinion. For example, the date, time, and location of the collision are facts. Fault determinations are the opinions of the police officer.
Regardless of what’s included in the police report, the insurance company, through its own investigation, will come to its own conclusion as to who was at fault for the accident.
You May Like: How To Be A Police Officer In Chicago
What Is In A Police Accident Report
The Balance / Julie Bang
If you get into an auto accident and file a claim with your insurance company, one of the first things they will likely ask you is whether you made a police accident report. If you can get one, you are probably better off.
If the police do not come to the accident scene, you should be able to visit your local police station or DMV and fill one out. The key is to make sure that the information on the report is accurate before an inaccuracy becomes a problem and potentially costs you money.
What information is on a police auto accident report?
Reporting Recent Car Accidents In Alberta
If you were involved in an accident, you should report it to police as soon as possible. If the damage exceeds $2,000 and the vehicle is driveable, you have 24 hours to file a report at your local police station. Failure to do so could result in a fine.
Depending on the details of your car insurance, you will have a certain time period to report a car accident to your insurer. Generally you have 30 days. Check with your advisor for clarification.
Don’t Miss: What App Tells You Where Police Are
Car Accident Police Reports
Car accident police reports are mandated in every state. This is because they happen so often and it is vital to keep drivers responsible through legal consequences.
Many states have laws in place to keep residents accountable and safe. These laws mandate getting a police report after an accident. Some states like Colorado require drivers to file a report even for minor fender benders.
On the other hand, states like Vermont mandate that drivers only need to make a car accident police report if the total damage, property or personal injury, is over $3,000. Most states require that you file within 10 days of the accident. Drivers who fail to make a report can get their license suspended or incur violation fines.
A complete and comprehensive accident police report includes the following information:
- Date, time and location of the accident
- Names, address, phone numbers car information and insurance information of all parties involved in accident
- Information that identifies witnesses
- Opinion of cause of collision from all parties involved